Murder in the Devil’s Half Acre

    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

Penrose and Pyke go together like fire and kerosene in this Victorian-era mystery with heart.

Trouble's brewing in the Devil's Half Acre. A death in an alleyway, a tragic accident in a factory, rumours of a murderer loose on the streets. It's enough to give a genteel lady a fit of the vapours.

Fortunately, Grace Penrose isn't one to swoon at the sight of blood. All she wants is the chance to become the first woman doctor in the colony. Instead, she is plunged into the harsh reality of the city's worst sweatshop, where tensions are running as hot as a steam engine.

When the police prove reluctant to investigate the deaths, she turns to a constable who is already up to his neck in trouble. As the clock ticks, Grace Penrose and Constable Charlie Pyke must figure out which deaths are accidents and which are murders, because the next victim might well be one of their own.

The Penrose & Pyke Mysteries are a new series of historical mysteries, for fans of authors like Andrea Penrose and Laurie R. King. The fight for women's rights has never been such deadly fun.

"I know I'm reading a good book when it mentally captures me – I develop really strong mental images and impression of how the scene or place looks.  I really did that with this book – I got a vivid sense of the gritty slums of Dunedin, but also the lovely garden, the elegance of the grand houses, and the steepness of the streets.  The characters were well developed and felt really authentic and three dimensional." ARC review

"A great read. I was totally engaged." ARC review

"Beautifully written, authentic setting and characters." ARC review

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
June 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
344
Pages
PUBLISHER
Flax Bay Books
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
391.9
KB

More Books by Rose Pascoe

2020
2020
2021
2021
2022

Other Books in This Series