Inheritance

A Visual Poem

    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

They tell me to “fix” my hair.

And by fix, they mean straighten, they mean whiten;

but how do you fix this shipwrecked

history of hair?

In her most famous spoken-word poem, author of the Pura Belpré-winning novel-in-verse The Poet X Elizabeth Acevedo embraces all the complexities of Black hair and Afro-Latinidad—the history, pain, pride, and powerful love of that inheritance.

Paired with full-color illustrations by artist Andrea Pippins in a format that will appeal to fans of Mahogany L. Browne’s Black Girl Magic or Jason Reynolds’s For Everyone, this poem can now be read in a vibrant package, making it the ideal gift, treasure, or inspiration for readers of any age.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2022
May 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
48
Pages
PUBLISHER
Quill Tree Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
19.8
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

More Books by Elizabeth Acevedo

2018
2019
2020
2019
2020
2021