The Poet X The Poet X

The Poet X

    • 4.5 • 364 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. 

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

This young adult novel, a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List, is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 6 to 8.

Plus don't miss Elizabeth Acevedo's With the Fire on High and Clap When You Land!

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2018
March 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Quill Tree Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
4.6
MB
AUDIENCE
Eighth Grade

Customer Reviews

Ladyluna429 ,

I see me

I cried. I saw myself in X. This book is amazing! I highly recommend!

bamhoudini ,

It’s cool

It’s the greatest book ever. I’ll recommend it to children’s village. To read

Puppyg04 ,

The Poet X

This book is a great read and makes you want to just keep reading.

More Books Like This

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
2018
Calling My Name Calling My Name
2017
The Chaos of Stars The Chaos of Stars
2013
Bronx Masquerade Bronx Masquerade
2001
The Things We Can't Change Part Four: The Love Story The Things We Can't Change Part Four: The Love Story
2014
What to Say Next What to Say Next
2017

More Books by Elizabeth Acevedo

With the Fire on High With the Fire on High
2019
Clap When You Land Clap When You Land
2020
Family Lore Family Lore
2023
Poet X Poet X
2019
Woke Woke
2020
El ingrediente secreto de Emoni Santiago El ingrediente secreto de Emoni Santiago
2021

Customers Also Bought

Long Way Down Long Way Down
2017
Dear Martin Dear Martin
2017
Brown Girl Dreaming Brown Girl Dreaming
2014
On the Come Up On the Come Up
2019
American Born Chinese American Born Chinese
2006
Felix Ever After Felix Ever After
2020