London Rain London Rain
Book 6 - Josephine Tey Mysteries

London Rain

A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey

    • 4.3 • 24 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson’s popular series—perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs—that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king.

London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals.

Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain’s most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford—and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony.

Josephine’s dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets… caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making.

Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge—and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
March 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Harper Paperbacks
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

catlvr49 ,

London Rain

Thanks for walking me through a memorable time I never lived through.

More Books Like This

The Mitford Vanishing The Mitford Vanishing
2022
The Miss Silver Mysteries Volume Eight The Miss Silver Mysteries Volume Eight
2019
The Mitford Murders The Mitford Murders
2018
Original Sin Original Sin
1995
A Patient Fury A Patient Fury
2017
A Certain Justice A Certain Justice
1997

More Books by Nicola Upson

An Expert in Murder An Expert in Murder
2009
The Death of Lucy Kyte The Death of Lucy Kyte
2014
Two for Sorrow Two for Sorrow
2011
Angel with Two Faces Angel with Two Faces
2010
Fear in the Sunlight Fear in the Sunlight
2013
Sorry for the Dead Sorry for the Dead
2019

Customers Also Bought

To Love and Be Wise To Love and Be Wise
2012
A Shilling for Candles A Shilling for Candles
2012
The Man in the Queue The Man in the Queue
2013
The Franchise Affair The Franchise Affair
2012
Miss Pym Disposes Miss Pym Disposes
2012
The St. Zita Society The St. Zita Society
2012

Other Books in This Series

An Expert in Murder An Expert in Murder
2009
Angel with Two Faces Angel with Two Faces
2010
Two for Sorrow Two for Sorrow
2011
Fear in the Sunlight Fear in the Sunlight
2013
The Death of Lucy Kyte The Death of Lucy Kyte
2014