• $9.99

Publisher Description

"Impressive precision and heart-gripping suspense....Good characters, an extra good story, and great scenes of life and death in the wilderness"--New York Times Book Review

Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett must investigate an attempted murder--a crime committed from a confoundingly long distance--in the riveting new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author C. J. Box.

When Joe Pickett is asked to join the rescue efforts for the victim of a startling grizzly attack, he reluctantly leaves his district behind. One survivor of the grizzly's rampage tells a bizarre story, but just as Joe begins to suspect the attack is not what it seems, he is brought home by an emergency on his own turf. Someone has targeted a prominent local judge, shooting at him from a seemingly impossible distance. While the judge was not hit, his wife is severely wounded, and it is up to Joe to find answers--and the shooter.

The search for the would-be assassin becomes personal when Joe's best friend, Nate Romanowski --just as he's adjusting to the arrival of his first child--falls under suspicion for the crime. It's a race against the clock as Joe tries to clear Nate's name and identify the real shooter, all while deciphering the grizzly encounter. Beset by threats both man-made and natural, the two men must go to great lengths to keep their loved ones safe.

Mysteries & Thrillers
March 3
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

sssssssddssssdsssssssssss ,

Love Joe

Another great book from CJ Box.

An eighdy old lady ,

Long Range

I believe I have read all of the Joe Pickett series and look forward to more. I’ve come to love the Pickett family and their growth. More of Joe Pickett Mr. Box please

Jubal2012 ,

Long Range

The storyline/plot is unusually clumsy and awkward. The opening of the book based in the Teton Wilderness area is based on recent true events but its tie to the plot seems contrived. This series was never meant to be literature but is one is poorly conceived.

More Books by C. J. Box

Other Books in This Series