• $4.99

Publisher Description

In this unforgettable novel for fans of One Day and The Time Traveler’s Wife, a young Isaac Newton falls in love with a girl living in modern-day San Francisco, defying the laws of physics to forge a seemingly impossible connection.

“Thoughtful, magical, and alive with romantic alchemy, Love and Gravity is a rare gem of a book, both intellectual and beautiful.”—New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen

Andrea Louviere is seven years old the first time he appears. While she’s alone in her bedroom, practicing her beloved cello, the light shivers and a crack forms in the wall. Through the crack, she sees a candle, a window, a desk—and a boy. In the eerie silence, the boy clearly sees Andrea too. Then, as quickly as it opened, the crack closes and he vanishes.

Over the years, summoning the boy becomes an obsession for Andrea. On her seventeenth birthday, she receives a three-hundred-year-old love letter from Isaac Newton. Andrea knows that Isaac will change the world with his groundbreaking discoveries; the letter tells Andrea that she will change him.
     
As Isaac’s letters intensify in passion and intimacy, Andrea grows determined to follow his clues to their shared destiny—despite a burgeoning romance in the present. Only when she discovers the way into Isaac’s time does Andrea realize that she faces a heartbreaking decision between what was . . . and what might be.

Praise for Love and Gravity

“Sotto’s remarkable story keeps the reader guessing until the very end. . . . The imaginative blend of romance, history, and paranormal is compulsively readable, hits all the romantic high notes, and provides a novel explanation for the development of calculus; highly recommended.”Library Journal, (starred review)

“Hard to put down.”Publishers Weekly

“Ingenious.”—Dear Author

“Creative and heartfelt, this novel captured my imagination and my heart with ease. . . . Samantha Sotto certainly gave us readers an original, almost fanciful story that was filled to the brim with real and very raw emotions.”—Harlequin Junkie

“Catching right from the start . . . If you like time travel romance novels, this book will not disappoint!”—The Lit Bitch

Praise for Samantha Sotto’s Before Ever After

“I was floored by the gutsy scope of this highly unusual love story. Before Ever After is one of those books that challenges the natural laws of fiction writing, and Samantha Sotto pulls it off in a frisky and highly entertaining way.”—Anne Fortier, New York Times bestselling author of Juliet

“I was absolutely enchanted by Before Ever After. It’s a highly original and engaging mix of romance, mystery, and magic that will challenge everything you think you know about happily ever after.”—Jill Smolinski, author of Objects of My Affection

“A smartly written romance, mystery, and historical adventure all wrapped up in a page-turner that will have you guessing until the very end.”—Adena Halpern, author of The Ten Best Days of My Life

“Exquisitely written and inventively told, Before Ever After is a beautiful, moving—and quite fun—exploration of what you think you know about your own life.”—Melissa Senate, author of The Love Goddess’ Cooking School

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
February 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
284
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Judy95 ,

Now this is great alternative fact! :)

I've always enjoyed looking at all things from two perspectives. Firstly, we see things per se and take it in for whatever it is. More interesting for me though is the second one - taking a look at the context of those same things that we see outright. How did it get here? Why is it here? What did it go through? Where did it come from?

Samantha does a fantastic job of creating the context of one of the most brilliant men throughout history. Most of us only know Newton through high school physics. We took him for whatever he was and whatever he discovered - that an object will stay at rest or continue to move until an external force is applied to it, etc. Newton to us was practical but largely uninteresting. Samantha, by creating a context on his how's, why's, what's and where's, has reimagined Newton and presented him more than his laws of physics or calculus. He is human and just like any of us - cries, laughs and loves. Because of this, I really enjoyed reading this as it took me into a place (and context) where the laws of physics do not necessarily apply.

Highly recommended.

ttsheehan80 ,

Beautiful and enchanting story

I thought this book was beautiful. I swear the way Sotto writes I could hear music pouring through her words as the details she writes with became notes of art. Granted the idea of star-crossed lovers separated by circumstance and time. has been done before such as in the movie Lake House or the book Time Traveler's Wife but Sotto has most definitely put her own stamp on the idea using Isaac Newton as one of the love interests. It was obvious the author put some effort into researching Newton instead of just using the basics which made it more fun to google facts from fiction or play the what if game.

I recommend reading it with some cello music to really bring out the beauty of this story.

More Books by Samantha Sotto