My Fair Junkie

A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean

    • 4.5 • 222 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.

Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011 all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon."

Within months, she found herself in the psych ward--and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang," she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her forties.

In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

GENRE
Biographies & Memoirs
RELEASED
2017
September 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Books
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
3
MB

Customer Reviews

joshua fall riger ,

Good recovery

Great book if your trying to stay clean. I have been clean 10+ years and have tried several attempts to tell my story. I’m huge into self help recovery books.

KG31495 ,

Just “okay”

The ending was intriguing and interesting, but the book sort of rambled and dragged on a lot with no real direction

Battle of a Mom ,

Absolutely well written AND hilarious!!!

This book is a MUST READ for anyone who struggles with alcoholism and addiction. Or better yet, sober! I love her writing style and the way she is able to accurately portray the throws of addiction. I BEG you to read/listen to this book!!! ❤️😂

Customers Also Bought

2017
2007
2014
2009
2014
2016