• $9.99

Publisher Description

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

The John Matherson Series
#1 One Second After
#2 One Year After
#3 The Final Day (forthcoming)

Other Books
Pillar to the Sky

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2011
April 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Tom Doherty Associates
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

DCM3878 ,

Excellent

Very good read. Highly recommended. If more people would read this, we might become a more prepared society.

CJJnSD ,

No joke, this can happen

The characters come off as a being a bit over the top "right wing" moral deacons. If you've read Alas Babylon -P Frank, then you've seen a good deal of this plot already.

However, the focus of this work is the shattering effect of EMP weapons used against a technical society whose very existence depends on a convoluted infrastructure working continuously. If that were to fail, as in this novel, the impact on said nation would be devastating beyond comprehension. The EMP effect is well known and understood and one a nations people can make plans to minimize the damage from. This requires the collective will of the populace to insist that their government, and local communities prepare in advance.

With one flick of a switch, your whole way of life can be sent back to the 19th century. How would you eat if there was no supermarket? What would happen if the infrastructure, so depended on by the USA were to evaporate in an instant?

Spencer Sheets ,

One second after

Fantastic!! From what I know he is right on. As a former emergency manager for a city, we practice drill for EMP strikes and his scenario is pretty much what we expect.

More Books by William R. Forstchen

Other Books in This Series