Pagan Spring

A Max Tudor Mystery

    • 4.1 • 63 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

"There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth . . . Malliet delivers all that." —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times

G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers, cozy fans, and Agatha Christie devotees everywhere with Wicked Autumn and A Fatal Winter, the critically-acclaimed mysteries that introduced former spy turned cleric Max Tudor. Now, Max returns to the small English village of Nether Monkslip, where some new residents cause quite a stir.

Vicar Max Tudor, reveling in his new-found personal happiness with Awena Owen, feels that life at the moment holds no greater challenge than writing his Easter sermon. With Awena away, he looks forward to a dinner that includes newcomers to the village like West End dramatist Thaddeus Bottle and his downtrodden wife Melinda. But when one of the dinner guests is found dead in the pre-dawn hours, Max knows a poisonous atmosphere has once again enveloped his perfect village of Nether Monkslip. Connections to long-ago crimes, some sparked by the paintings of a famous local artist, help Max unravel the clues—but can he restore peace to Nether Monkslip and still manage to finish his sermon? Funny, smart, and perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny, Pagan Spring is a one-of-a-kind mystery featuring everyone's favorite attractive vicar.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2013
October 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
793.6
KB

Customer Reviews

Spyseeker3 ,

Charming, devious, but simplest pealneclae

Great Fun and Educational!

solve4life ,

Pretty boring

I really liked the first couple of books - this one was slow, the resolution convoluted, and the author spent five chapters at the end to slooooowly tell us who did it. Five chapters from the time the suspects are called in a room together, to when Max finally tells us who did it. Good Lord. I started flipping and skimming just to get it over with. All the charm of the village, it’s inhabitants, the great humor I enjoyed at the top of the series has been wrung out of each consecutive book, until we landed here.

Motownmary ,

Pagan Spring

The 3rd installment of the Father Max, ex MI5
Agent mystery series is both a excellent who/why
"Done it"& an important reminder of humanity's
History during WWII.
The reader is treated once again to the lives of the story's recurring village residents as they become witnesses/ willing or unwilling of the
Latest murder. Most importantly we are taken ever so carefully back in time to expose & become educated about the best & worst of the human element. The author does this well, never
Preaching only informing. It is left to the reader
To decide where the sympathy/empathy should
Lie regarding the murderer. Excellent series-hope it continues after the 4th book-4th season.
M.B.Olds





Lie regarding the murderer.
Excellent series-I hope it continues after her

More Books by G. M. Malliet

2011
2012
2014
2015
2017
2018

Customers Also Bought

2007
2010
2007
2015
2014
2010

Other Books in This Series

2014
2015
2017
2018
2011
2012