• $2.99

Publisher Description

There are some lines even a cold-hearted spy won’t cross…

Investigative reporter Faith Andrews believes a secret government program has kidnapped her brother. Forced into hiding when assassins are sent to kill her, Faith refuses to give up. Desperate to save her brother, she’ll do anything to find him.

Ruthless and arrogant, CIA agent Mark Tonelli has always been driven by two things. The need to avenge his father’s death, and the desire to protect his country at any cost. But when he joins the black ops groups Kerberos, Mark discovers that there are some lines even he won’t cross.

Kerberos has been supporting an experimental program that forcibly turns men into superhuman soldiers. When Mark learns that the soldiers are going to be used in an upcoming attack against an innocent population, he vows to bring down Kerberos, even if it means giving up his plans for revenge.

When Faith confronts him and demands answers, he quickly realizes that her investigative skills make her a valuable partner. Only by working together can they expose Kerberos, stop the upcoming attack, and save her brother. 

If you like edge-of-your-seat action, shadowy government agencies committing terrible crimes, and characters forced to confront the darkness within themselves, then you’ll love this sideways book in Vanessa Kier’s action-packed SSU romantic thriller series. Get Payback today to begin the adventure!

NOTE: Does part of this plot sound familiar? It should! Payback is a sideways book. That means that Payback takes place at the same time as Retribution. In fact, there are some scenes near the end of Payback that duplicate the action in Retribution. Payback shows you those scenes through Mark Tonelli’s eyes.

Because Retribution is on the main timeline of the series, and Payback contains spoilers for how Retribution ends, I recommend that you read Retribution first.

About the Author:

Vanessa Kier spends way too much time thinking up ways she can torture her characters. A worst-case scenario thinker, she's been creating stories in her head since childhood. Now she channels her persistently dark what-if questions into writing romantic thrillers that combine intense emotion with action-packed plots. The author of The Surgical Strike Unit series about a privately run special operations group, she has set her new series WAR in West Africa, where she lived for a time.

When she’s not writing, listening to music, or playing puzzle games on her mobile device, Vanessa helps writers learn Scrivener and takes long hikes in the nearby hills.

For more about Vanessa and to sign up for the KierDevils newsletter and receive access to exclusive content, please visit her website www.vanessakier.com. She loves to hear from readers.

December 15
Vanessa Kier
Vanessa Kier

More Books by Vanessa Kier

Other Books in This Series