• $1.99

Publisher Description

An aspiring screenwriter has a chance encounter with an actor who could be the man of her dreams. Over the next ten years, she’ll write the story . . . but will he end up being the star?

February 4, 2003, promises to be a typical day for Olivia Ross—a greeting card writer whose passion project is a screenplay of her own. But after she and a handsome actor have a magical meet-cute in a coffee shop, they make a spontaneous pact: in ten years, after they’ve found the success they’re just sure they’re going to achieve, they’ll return to the coffeehouse to partner up and make a film together. The only problem? Olivia neglected to get the stranger’s name. But she doesn’t forget his face—or the date.

For the next ten years, every February 4 is marked with coincidences and ironies for Olivia. As men come and go and return to her life, she continues to write, but still wonders about the guy from the coffee shop—the nameless actor she’s almost certain has turned out to be Hamish MacDougal, now a famous A-lister and Hollywood leading man.

But a lot can happen in ten years, and while waiting for the curtain to rise on her fate, the true story of Olivia’s life is being written—and if she’s not careful, she’ll completely miss the real-life romantic comedy playing out right before her eyes.

Praise for Plot Twist:

“Plot Twist gave my rom-com loving heart everything it could hope for . . . Perfect for anyone who loves love or dreams about meeting George Clooney.”—Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks

“Funny, clever, and sweet, Plot Twist reminds us that sometimes love doesn’t look just like the movies—and that it can be so, so much better than we ever dreamed.”—Melissa Ferguson, bestselling author of The Cul-de-Sac War

“Bethany Turner just keeps getting better! Plot Twist is like experiencing the best parts of all my favorite rom-coms, tied together with Turner’s pitch-perfect comedic timing, an achingly sweet ‘will they or won’t they?’ romance, and the BFF relationship most girls dream of.”—Carla Laureano, RITA Award–winning author of The Saturday Night Supper Club and Provenance
Sweet and playful contemporary rom-comFull-length, stand-alone novel (approx. 86,000 words)Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Katherine ReayIncludes discussion questions for book clubs

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
June 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Thomas Nelson
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
5.1
MB

Customer Reviews

LGHudson ,

Not What I Expected

I have read several of Bethany Turner’s books and looked forward to reading PLOT TWIST. The plot is based on the life of Olivia Ross, a greeting card writer whose dream is to write a screenplay starring some dreamy actor. I did read all of this book and my conclusion is that it is Not What I Expected.

Turner’s lead character, Olivia Ross, starts out as a likable character. She is a young woman with a dream, a goal, and a plan to make it happen. On Feb. 4, 2003, Olivia has a chance encounter with a dreamy actor. They make small talk and she tells him of her dream to write the screenplay and have it published. He tells her of his acting dreams. To add an extra measure of focus for both of them, the actor proposes the idea that they meet on the same date in TEN years and partner up to make Olivia’s film together. There is just one little problem. Olivia did not get the dreamy actor’s name!

What happens next is a LONG, winding road covering the next TEN years of Olivia’s life. Except that every year, something significant always happens on Feb. 4. She always thinks it could be a sign, except she still has not even begun to start writing her screenplay. At this point, the plot drags on and on and on. All the while, Olivia is oblivious to the man who is madly in love with her and who would love to make all her dreams come true! He is her on-again, off-again, best friend/boyfriend. She is so hot and cold with him that he finally moves far away from her because he just cannot take it anymore. On the 10th Anniversary, Olivia’s best friend forces her to show up & see if the dreamy actor is there. Well, the joke I on Olivia! She has written the screenplay and it will be made into a movie, but boy did she get the dreamy actor wrong! She finally realizes what was standing right before her eyes all the time. My problem with this book is it felt like it took ten years to read it! This story is so convoluted that it is exhausting to read. It is just not my favorite book by this author.

I as provided a complimentary copy of this book by Thomas Nelson and NetGalley. The opinions expressed here are completely my own and without influence.

MamaBird07 ,

Cute plot with a twist

I loved the plot of this book. A chance run-in leads to pact of meeting up again in a decade. As we are taken on the adventure with the main character we get to see how each year she changes and grows. In the end, I feel bad she wasted so much time but it truly shows how as individuals we are always changing and growing.

More Books by Bethany Turner