Queenie

    • 4.1 • 434 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

ONE OF TIME’S 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR
ONE OF NPR’S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2019 BY WOMAN’S DAY, NEWSDAY, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, BUSTLE, AND BOOK RIOT!

“[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking.” —Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

For fans of Luster and I May Destroy You, a disarmingly honest, unapologetically black, and undeniably witty debut novel that will speak to those who have gone looking for love and found something very different in its place.

Queenie Jenkins is a twenty-five-year-old Jamaican British woman living in London, straddling two cultures and slotting neatly into neither. She works at a national newspaper, where she’s constantly forced to compare herself to her white middle class peers. After a messy break up from her long-term white boyfriend, Queenie seeks comfort in all the wrong places…including several hazardous men who do a good job of occupying brain space and a bad job of affirming self-worth.

As Queenie careens from one questionable decision to another, she finds herself wondering, “What are you doing? Why are you doing it? Who do you want to be?”—all of the questions today’s woman must face in a world trying to answer them for her.

With “fresh and honest” (Jojo Moyes) prose, Queenie is a remarkably relatable exploration of what it means to be a modern woman searching for meaning in today’s world.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
March 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery/Scout Press
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
6.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Spomky ,

A great read

I loved this book! Honest, raw, well written. A Sunday well spent.

Parkside:) ,

Great Read!!

I love the character development of Queenie but the ending was a bit boring. I still would recommend.

Zykieya Cooper ,

Amazing Book for Black Women

I was a little irritated with queenie’s decision throughout the book especially with men but I wanted to wait and see if she would change. I’m so proud of her breaking the generational curses of black families and seeking therapy or help to help with her trauma, relationships and of course her mental well being. This book was amazing and eye opening to me it made me realize that some black women are attracted to certain types of men out of fear or going where they are wanted. I loved that it included the triumphs of being in an interracial relationship. This amazing book made me cry and made me realize so much about being a black women even though my life is just getting started.

More Books by Candice Carty-Williams

2022
2021
2020
2022
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2018
2020
2020
2021
2016
2020