• $1.99

Publisher Description

In the Darkness,
Anarchy Awakens

When a massive solar flare wiped out all modern technology across the globe, the small town of Abney, Texas, was thrown into chaos. Shelby Sparks and her teenage son, Carter, have found refuge, but Shelby knows she can't simply remain hidden. Carter is a type 1 diabetic in need of insulin—and Shelby will risk her life traveling to Austin to make sure he gets it.

Shelby's best friend and high school sweetheart, Max Berkman, won't even consider letting her make the perilous journey alone. Together, they manage to reach the capital—only to discover that while things are desperate in Abney, Austin has turned into an urban nightmare on the brink of anarchy.

Shelby and Max's search for medical supplies will lead them into terrifying territory, where the only thing more uncertain than finding what they need is the hope of making it out of the city alive.

* * *

In this second book in an eerily plausible, action-packed dystopian series, survival will be threatened and faith will be put to the ultimate test as a raging storm engulfs America.

Fiction & Literature
January 31
Harvest House Publishers
INscribe Digital

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Second book in The Remnant series!

Raging Storm by Vannetta Chapman is the second book in The Remnant series. Shelby Sparks and her son, Carter have relocated with Max Berkman to High Fields. High Fields is the farm belonging to Gloria and Roy Berkman, Max’s parents. With the destruction of the Sparks home and the problems Abney is encountering, it made sense to relocate. But Shelby does not plan on staying at the farm for long. She needs to get to Austin to find more insulin for Carter. Shelby’s first priority is taking care of her son and he needs the insulin to survive. Max, of course, will not let Shelby go alone (he loves Shelby and wants to protect her). The two of them set off for Austin, but encounter a problem when they reach Abney. Nadine Perkins, the mayor, wishes them to find medicine for the town. They are in desperate need of antibiotics and other medications. Mayor Perkins insists that they take Dr. Farhan Bhatti with them. He knows Austin and the medications. Shelby resents the delay and she distrusts Dr. Bhatti, but the mayor is leaving them with no choice. Patrick Goodnight and Bianca Lopez will be joining them on the perilous journey to Austin. They will follow in a second vehicle and can provide backup. This group was not prepared for what they encounter in Austin. Will Shelby be able to find the insulin she so desperately needs for her son? Will this group be able to get out of Austin and back home?

Raging Storm picks up where Deep Shadows left off. Raging Storm is even better than the first book. This book is well-written and engaging. I was immediately drawn in and kept reading until I finished the story. The novel has a good pace which makes it a pleasure to read. I give Raging Storm 4.5 out of 5 stars (I really liked it). The only sour note was Shelby. I had trouble liking her in Deep Shadows and I found her discourteous in the first half of this novel. Shelby is impatient (dislikes every delay in their journey) and is only thinking about her objective for the journey (I understand her concern and I have with patience myself). However, Shelby does change over the course of the story and improves in the second half of the book. I think that Vannetta Chapman did an remarkable job at depicting what life would be like if we experienced a disaster. We would like to think that people would help each other out and come together as a community. But it is not realistic. Many people would be looking out for themselves and trying to find ways to profit from the disaster. I liked how Ms. Chapman tied Raging Storm back to Overshadowed Readers finally get to find out about The Remnant and how it ties into the story. I am curious to see what will happen in the next book in The Remnant series. Raging Storm is not a stand-alone novel. You do need to read Overshadowed and Deep Shadows prior to Raging Storm.

More Books by Vannetta Chapman

Other Books in This Series