• $7.99

Publisher Description

From Bethany Chase—whom bestselling author Emily Giffin calls “a great new voice in fiction”—comes a wise and delightfully relatable novel about a woman’s journey to rebuild her life, and her heart, after a stunning betrayal.
 
Can you ever really know the person you love?
 
She never saw it coming. Without even a shiver of suspicion to warn her, art curator Caroline Hammond discovers that her husband is having an affair with a man—a revelation that forces her to question their entire history together, from their early days as high school sweethearts through their ten years as a happily married couple. In her now upside-down world, Caroline begins envisioning her life without the relationship that has defined it: the loneliness of being an “I” instead of a “we”; the rekindled yet tenuous closeness with her younger sister; and the unexpected—and potentially disastrous—attraction she can’t get off her mind. Caroline always thought she knew her own love story, but as her husband’s other secrets emerge, she must decide whether that story’s ending will mean forgiving the man she’s loved for half her life, or facing her future without him.
 
Compassionate and uplifting, Results May Vary is a bittersweet celebration of the heart’s ability to turn unexpected troubles into extraordinary strength.
 
Praise for Results May Vary

“Chase has written an incredibly charming novel about shifting from being completed by a man to becoming a whole woman. Witnessing Caro’s growth is a pleasure.”—Library Journal
 
“Bethany Chase writes with a realism of expression that allows readers to empathize and appreciate the characters’ personalities and frustrations. The push and pull written into interpersonal dynamics between characters feels true to life, and is best seen in Caroline’s relationship with her sister. The surprises keep readers alert and the tempo of the novel holds their attention until the very last page.”—RT Book Reviews

“This latest novel from Chase will appeal to anyone who has ever looked up to realize they define themselves by those surrounding them. Caroline’s exploration of self-discovery is a familiar one, yet Chase has a way with phrasing and a thoughtful approach that pushes this one notch above the others. . . . A good fit for fans of Emily Giffin and Kristin Hannah.”Booklist

“An altogether addictive read . . . Chase creates characters a reader can truly care about [in] a novel that doles out both laughter and tears.”—Kirkus Reviews

Results May Vary is an openhearted and sweetly rendered story of lost love and found strength.”—Melissa DeCarlo, author of The Art of Crash Landing

“Relatable, engaging, and ultimately uplifting, as it explores the secrets hidden beneath the surface of a marriage that seems enviable . . . You'll root for Caroline as she struggles through heartbreak toward an unexpected new future.”—Sarah Pekkanen, author of The Perfect Neighbors

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
August 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Christine Shh Moms Reading ,

a gem!

Two people who met while they were young and in high school, who got married and had this seemingly perfect life only to be broken by an affair. And not just any affair which is already heartbreaking in itself, but an affair with a man!

This is my first Bethany Chase book and won't be my last (Thanks to Megan from Reading Books Like a Boss for another great recommendation).

What I loved about this story besides the premise, the emotional feelings that the author evoked in me and this woman's journey to finding herself again - I loved the way they author made Caroline's home in Massachusetts, the artwork, the secondary characters all felt so real and so necessary for the story to progress.

I went to college in Western Mass (UMass Amherst) and while reading, I could see the beautiful locations in my mind and smell that amazing fall day in those beautiful towns. I could see vividly in my mind the artwork that Caroline worked so hard to champion and above all else, I loved the secondary characters - her sister Ruby and best friend Jonathan, her co-worker Neil - all people Caroline needed in her life to heal, to put a smile on her face when she was lost and to help her move forward.

Yes, there is some romance in this story and that hope that this woman who was hurt so badly to be able to find healing and strength again; to find herself and who she once was outside of her marriage but the overall message of this book is the growth, the possibilities for the future and that yes, you can find love at a young age and sometimes it may not work as you had hoped but its that journey to start over, to be true to yourself, for your heart to grow again and to be able to find trust again that really stole my heart.

What a gem of a book! I am so happy that I was able to sneak this read in among my crazy TBR list! <3
I know I am rambling but just read it - this author reminds me of Taylor Jenkins Reid (another author I LOVE) and I am looking forward to reading more from her!

Honoree 7477 ,

Loved it!

I just finished reading Results May Vary (right on the heels of The One That Got Away by same author). It was such a lovely, well written, insightful book! Read it...you won't be sorry! Can't wait for Ms. Chase's next book!

Mellie Mel 1970 ,

Phenomenal story

Second book by this author and it did not disappoint. The characters were all well developed and I had to know what happened so I finished the book in 6 hours! I really enjoyed this story and will definitely have a book hangover on this one. Thanks to Ms. Chase for this entertaining book. Forever a fan!

More Books by Bethany Chase