Skin of the Sea Skin of the Sea
Book 1 - Of Mermaids and Orisa

Skin of the Sea

    • 4.3 • 45 Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 NYT bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and anyone who can't wait for the live-action The Little Mermaid.

“Riveting.” —NPR
“Evocative.” —Entertainment Weekly
“Remarkable.” —Buzzfeed


A way to survive.
A way to serve.
A way to save.

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata—a mermaid—collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys back home.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard, Simi goes against an ancient decree and does the unthinkable—she saves his life. And punishment awaits those who dare to defy the gods.

To protect the other Mami Wata, Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends. But all is not as it seems. There's the boy she rescued, who knows more than he should. And something is shadowing Simi, something that would rather see her fail . . .

Danger lurks at every turn, and as Simi draws closer, she must brave vengeful gods, treacherous lands, and legendary creatures. Because if she fails, she risks not only the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
November 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Children's Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
14.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Netta_3 ,

Loved every this book

Didn’t want to put it down. And left me wanting more. Just order the next book.

mikemjohnson86 ,

Loved reading a book about a Black Mermaid

Where do I start. It’s clear the Little Mermaid was an inspiration behind this story that took what we knew about the aforementioned and flipped it upside down. This wasn’t about a princess, instead we saw a hero rise from the depths of the ocean after disobeying rules set in place by the Orisha who gave her life after death.

The plot was simple but the adventure was complex in a good way. Simidele is the best of both worlds, she is a hero who, sometimes is out of her depths. She’s not reliant on being a damsel despite her struggling to stand on her own at times. And while she’s prideful, she isn’t unlikable.

The aesthetics of historical events makes this story that much better. Using the dark American/West African history makes it feel real despite the somewhat abstract nature of it. The more… I can’t say enough about the Orisha and the West African lore. I’ve learned as much as I was entertained.

The give in take dance Natasha does with her two protagonist is admirable. It’s a satisfying story that works as a one off, but she’s so good at diving into the West African lore through the eyes of the main MC that you want to read more.

Sol🌶 ,

Educational and engaging

I learned so much about West African spirituality through reading this and I can’t get enough! Loved so much about this story and how eloquently it was written. Can’t wait for the sequel to come out!

More Books Like This

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea
2022
The Impostor Queen The Impostor Queen
2016
Last of the Talons Last of the Talons
2022
Spice Road Spice Road
2023
All the Stars and Teeth All the Stars and Teeth
2020
The Girl of Fire and Thorns The Girl of Fire and Thorns
2011

More Books by Natasha Bowen

Soul of the Deep Soul of the Deep
2022
La piel de las sirenas La piel de las sirenas
2021
Anima degli abissi Anima degli abissi
2024
A alma do oceano A alma do oceano
2023
Skin of the Sea. Sekret oceanu Skin of the Sea. Sekret oceanu
2023
Skin of the Sea. Sekret oceanu Skin of the Sea. Sekret oceanu
2023

Customers Also Bought

The Gilded Ones The Gilded Ones
2021
A Song Below Water A Song Below Water
2020
The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones
2022
This Poison Heart This Poison Heart
2021
Legendborn Legendborn
2020
The Deep The Deep
2019

Other Books in This Series