Book 3 - American Heiresses

Storing Up Trouble

    • 4.6 • 25 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

When Miss Beatrix Waterbury's Chicago-bound train ride is interrupted by a heist, Mr. Norman Nesbit, a man of science who believes his research was the target of the heist, comes to her aid. Despite the fact that they immediately butt heads, they join forces to make a quick escape. 

Upon her arrival in Chicago, Beatrix is surprised to discover her supposedly querulous Aunt Gladys shares her own suffragette passions. Encouraged by Gladys to leave her sheltered world, Beatrix begins working as a salesclerk at the Marshall Field and Company department store. When she again encounters Norman on a shopping expedition, he is quickly swept up in the havoc she always seems to attract. 

But when another attempt is made to part Norman from his research papers, and it becomes clear Beatrix's safety is also at risk, they soon discover the curious way feelings can grow between two very different people in the midst of chaos.

Fiction & Literature
May 5
Bethany House Publishers
Baker Book House Company

Customer Reviews

Mkb87red ,

Great Read!

Wonderful read. Full of great characters and a storyline that was intriguing.

61655 ,

What a fun read!

Prepare yourself for an absolutely wonderful afternoon of reading! This third book in the American Heiresses series most certainly does not disappoint. 1886 finds the suffrage movement ramping up, with peaceful protests in many of the large cities. Sometimes these same protests result in these courageous women being put in jail. Such is the dilemma Beatrix Waterbury finds herself in, not once, but twice! Banished to stay with Aunt Gladys in Chicago, the heiress begins to learn how the rest of the world lives.

You need to find your purpose in life, Beatrix - Aunt Gladys And thus the story begins....

What with more than one robbery, a mule named Mort, cats that rule the house and scientific experiments gone awry, the author had me laughing out loud many times. In fact my dog came to see what on earth was going on and whether or not I was The mystery behind much of the excitement was certainly not what I expected. Learning to find that purpose brought a new understanding to Beatrix as she tries to negotiate her way as a woman in a man’s world. With so many fabulous characters, it was wonderful to watch as they changed and developed. In all, a most fabulous way to lose yourself and your worries in a well-written book.

This digital copy was received through Bethany House Publishers, NetGalley and CelebrateLit. My impressions and comments were in no way solicited.

Debora Wilder ,

This is an amazingly funny historical romance!

This book is filled with many quirky characters. I especially like both of the main characters, Beatrix and Norman. They definitely live up to term opposites. Yet they keep finding themselves drawn to the other. They each have a journey of self discovery and growth. It is wonderful to see how they improve individually as the story progresses.

There is also a bit of mystery that keeps them on their toes trying to figure it out. It is very nicely woven in and only seems to enhance the romance. It was a lot of fun seeing who stepped up and provided encouragement and direction along the way.

A bonus was the short appearances of the main characters from each of the previous books in this series. I always like to catch up with old friends.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. I was not required to give a positive review. All of the opinions expressed are my own.

Disclaimer: *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book for free in the hope that I would mention or review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I have done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

More Books Like This


More Books by Jen Turano


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series