The Anniversary

    • 2.8 • 13 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Lisa Halliday and Susan Choi, The Anniversary is a simmering page-turner about an ascendant writer, the unresolved death of her husband, and what it takes to emerge on her own

Novelist J.B. Blackwood is on a cruise with her husband, Patrick, to celebrate their wedding anniversary. Her former professor, film director, and cult figure, Patrick is much older than J.B.. When they met, he seemed somehow ageless, as all gods appear in the eyes of those who worship them. But now his success is starting to wane and J.B. is on the cusp of winning a major literary prize. Her art has been forever overseen by him, now it may overshadow his.

For days they sail in the sun, nothing but dark water all around them. Then a storm hits and Patrick falls from the ship. J.B. is left alone, as the search for what happened to Patrick – and the truth about their marriage – begins.

Propulsive and fiercely intelligent, The Anniversary is exquisitely written with a swift and addictive plot.  It’s a novel that asks: how legible, in the mind of the writer, is the line between reality and plot? How do we refuse the people we desire? And what is the cost, to ourselves, to others and to our art, if we don’t?

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
July 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grove Atlantic
SELLER
Perseus Books, LLC
SIZE
1.3
MB

Customer Reviews

DeniseJY ,

BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN, DEEPLY TROUBLING PSYCHOLOGICAL NOVEL

One of the most profoundly sad books I have ever read. I'm not sure what to make of it and equally unsure about recommending it to anyone.

More Books Like This

2012
2012
2023
2021
2018
2010

More Books by Stephanie Bishop

2016
2005
2017
2023

Customers Also Bought

2023
2023
2020
2022
2023
2021