The Beast of Barcroft The Beast of Barcroft
Book 1 - The Fatal Folklore Trilogy

The Beast of Barcroft

    • 4.2 • 40 Ratings
    • $6.99
    • $6.99

Publisher Description

Fans of Stephen King and Bentley Little will devour The Beast of Barcroft, Bill Schweigart’s brilliant new vision of dark suburban horror. Ben thought he had the neighbor from hell. He didn’t know how right he was. . . .
 
Ben McKelvie believes he’s moving up in the world when he and his fiancée buy a house in the cushy Washington, D.C., suburb of Barcroft. Instead, he’s moving down—way down—thanks to Madeleine Roux, the crazy neighbor whose vermin-infested property is a permanent eyesore and looming hazard to public health.
 
First, Ben’s fiancée leaves him; then, his dog dies, apparently killed by a predator drawn into Barcroft by Madeleine’s noxious menagerie. But the worst is yet to come for Ben, for he’s not dealing with any ordinary wild animal. This killer is something much, much worse. Something that couldn’t possibly exist—in this world.
 
Now, as a devilish creature stalks the locals, Ben resolves to take action. With some grudging assistance from a curator at the Smithsonian’s National Zoo and the crackpot theories of a self-styled cryptozoologist, he discovers the sinister truth behind the attacks, but knowing the Beast of Barcroft and stopping it are two different animals.

Praise for The Beast of Barcroft
 
“A vicious otherworldly creature terrorizes a neighborhood in Schweigart’s swift and breezy suburban creature feature. . . . Readers who appreciate a B-movie sensibility, affable characters, and a sense of fun along with their scares will find much to enjoy.”Publishers Weekly

The Beast of Barcroft is a page-turner, seizing the reader and demanding he keep his nose buried in the book until that last page is reached.”New York Journal of Books
 
The Beast of Barcroft is quite chilling at times, but oh what great entertainment it provides. . . . If you like horror novels, don’t hesitate to give [it] a try as it’s a terrifyingly good story.”Fresh Fiction
 
“A hybrid of The X Files, Silver Bullet and Supernatural. If you enjoy your horror with a distinctly animalistic edge then I would recommend that you give The Beast of Barcroft a go.”—The Eloquent Page
 
“The action is fun, the pace is quick, and the imagery is great. I’d highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good afternoon horror story.”—Scifi and Scary Book Reviews

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2015
November 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
200
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Aoed ,

Non stop fun.

Fun read. Concept was interesting too.

PollyMH ,

Terrifying, Dark Horror Story

Good, solid, creepy horror story! With great character development and a formidable, malevolent enemy, I couldn't stop reading this one. It definitely pays to check out your neighbors before moving in! Bill Schweigart has hit the mark with this book, especially because he includes rats, rats, rats! As a long-time Stephen King reader I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to any horror fan who has felt that chilling, hair-raising reaction to evil in all its incarnations. Good to discover a new author and I will be looking for more from Mr. Schweigart.

Bamma342 ,

The Beast of Barcroft

Couldn't put it down, read it all night. Funny, scary, horrifying, a real page-turner.

More Books Like This

Were- Were-
2016
Kitty's Mix-Tape Kitty's Mix-Tape
2020
Swan Song Swan Song
2011
Hall of Heroes Hall of Heroes
2017
Drynn Drynn
2013
The Wolf at the End of the World The Wolf at the End of the World
2013

More Books by Bill Schweigart

Northwoods Northwoods
2016
Dark Screams: Volume Seven Dark Screams: Volume Seven
2017
The Devil's Colony The Devil's Colony
2017
The Guilty One The Guilty One
2023

Customers Also Bought

Consumption Consumption
2015
The Dreams The Dreams
2017
Transmission Transmission
2018
The Disappearance The Disappearance
2010
The Narrows The Narrows
2017
Savage Species Savage Species
2019

Other Books in This Series

Northwoods Northwoods
2016
The Devil's Colony The Devil's Colony
2017