Consumption

    • 3.9 • 38 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Sarah Langan comes a thrilling new vision of American horror. In Heather Herrman’s heart-pounding debut novel, evil is ready to feed—and it’s got one hell of an appetite.
 
In the wake of tragedy, John and Erma Scott are heading west in search of a new life. So when car trouble strands them in sleepy Cavus, Montana, they decide to stay for a while, charmed by the friendly residents and the surrounding ambiance. Here, they hope, is the healing balm that their marriage needs.
 
Then John and Erma find themselves in a fight not just to save their marriage, but their very lives. For this is no ordinary town. Its quiet streets conceal a dark and bloody secret that has slumbered for centuries. Now, that secret is awake . . . and it’s hungry.
 
Like a slow infection, evil is spreading through Cavus. Soon John and Erma—along with the local sheriff, an undocumented immigrant, a traumatized teenage girl, and an old man with terrible secrets of his own—must join together to battle an all-consuming force that has set its sights on its prey: the entire human race.

Advance praise for Consumption
 
“Both the evil that suffuses the pages of Consumption and the motley gang of innocents who defend against it are much more interesting than those usually found in your average scare fare. Solid writing elevates this imaginative fright-fest from an invigorating new voice.”—Sophie Littlefield, bestselling author of the Aftertime series

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
May 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
342
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

PollyMH ,

Consumption, Heather Herman

Dark horror, worthy of all-night reading to see what happens! With mostly well-developed characters, Ms. Herman has written an original story of the effects of an age-old evil on a small Montana town.

Although I was a little doubtful at first, I found myself getting immersed in this book. We must remember that there are other horror writers worth a read! Recommended.

Allen Francis ,

Surprising page-turner from new author

While Ms. Herrman is relatively new to the horror genre, I'm familiar with her work from some magazine articles. This story throws the reader into the desolate northern plains and all the horrors small-towns try to keep locked underground. A great read for fans of Stoker, Rice and King. Heather is certainly going to be an artist to watch over the coming years.

Customers Also Bought

2015
2016
2017
2015
2014
2021