The Black Swan of Paris

A WWII Novel

    • 4.4 • 331 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

An exquisite WWII novel illuminating the strength of three women in occupied Paris, for fans of The Nightingale, The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris.

"A truly outstanding novel...reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage."—Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse’s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary—including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected—and in time to save Lillian’s life.

In this heart-wrenching novel, bestselling author Karen Robards showcases the extraordinary lengths one goes to save their family from a German prison. A web of spies, the resistance and a vivid portrayal of Paris in wartime.
 

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
June 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
MIRA Books
SELLER
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

MsPwasp ,

Absorbing, breathtaking

Read this book

Kathleen LaBonte ,

Real emotions connected to real events

I could not put this book down. The author’s descriptions of settings and character emotions were exceptional. I felt I was right there. I also appreciated learning more details about the French resistance efforts.
The huge sacrifices people made during war, and the hardships they suffered formed a harsh reality and raised my awareness of the Horrors of Nazi occupation in France during WWII. The author brought the psychological effects of war and tragedies alive in her characters. Her character developments were credible. I plan to read more of Robards’ novels.

Kbeyer7211 ,

Great Book!

This book kept me on the edge of my seat! I would read until by eyes couldn’t focus any longer and then start again later! I would love to see this author write another WWII historical fiction novel!!

More Books by Karen Robards

2011
2012
2010
2012
2013
2011

Customers Also Bought

2019
2021
2018
2020
2020
2019