The Devourers The Devourers

The Devourers

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 19 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

Praise for The Devourers

“A chilling, gorgeous saga that spans several centuries and many lands . . . The all-too-human characters—including the nonhuman ones—and the dreamlike, recursive plot serve to entrance the reader. . . . There’s no escaping The Devourers. Readers will savor every bite.”—N. K. Jemisin, The New York Times Book Review

The Devourers is beautiful. It is brutal. It is violent and vicious. . . . [It] also showcases Das’s incredible prowess with language and rhythm, and his ability to weave folklore and ancient legend with modern day loneliness.”Tordotcom

“A wholly original, primal tale of love, violence, and transformation.”—Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Red Rising Trilogy

“Astonishing . . . a narrative that takes possession of you and pulls you along in its wake.”—M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2016
July 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Worlds
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
11.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Rob Sketcherman ,

A fascinating alternative mythology

Weaving together strands of werewolf mythology from Viking lore to Greek and Egyptian Gods and set in India, this riveting tale follows the life of a mild-mannered professor and how his life changes when he’s causally told one evening by a stranger, “I’m half werewolf”.

The story begins in modern day Kolkata, but spans millennia, and it was absolutely fascinating reading the author’s take on the rituals, customs and lives of shapeshifters. Do they hunt in packs? How do they choose mates? Or pick their prey? Ever wondered how old they might be or how they are raised? I read this through over 3 nights every chance I got. Great read!

Choralriff ,

Masterpiece

Wow. I didn’t think I was going to like this at first. It is very dense in imagery and language, almost distracting from the story. The narrator and his “stranger” turned me off with their sexual tension (I’m not a fan of eroticism). But then the actual story kicked in and I was mesmerized. Horrific, emotionally complex, epic, stunningly beautiful…

Mooiboot ,

Astonishingly beautiful

A storyline woven through with threads of gods, genies, demons and the all too human condition. Glorious imagination from Indra Das, I can't wait to read more.

More Books Like This

Breath Breath
2021
The Goodnight Kiss The Goodnight Kiss
2018
The Waking Land The Waking Land
2017
The Bonds That Break Us The Bonds That Break Us
2024
Sea of Storms Sea of Storms
2022
Sistersong Sistersong
2021

More Books by Indra Das

2016 Del Rey Sampler 2016 Del Rey Sampler
2016
The Last Dragoners of Bowbazar The Last Dragoners of Bowbazar
2023

Customers Also Bought

Middlegame Middlegame
2019
The Bear and the Nightingale The Bear and the Nightingale
2017
The Raven Tower The Raven Tower
2019
Axiom's End Axiom's End
2020
Nona the Ninth Nona the Ninth
2022
Gideon the Ninth Gideon the Ninth
2019