• $14.99

Publisher Description

The eighth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s New York Times bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit television series.

Britain, early tenth century AD: a time of change. There are new raids by the Vikings from Ireland and turmoil among the Saxons over the leadership of Mercia. A younger generation is taking over.

Æthelred, the ruler of Mercia, is dying, leaving no legitimate heir. The West Saxons want their king, but Uhtred has long supported Æthelflaed, sister to King Edward of Wessex and widow of Æthelred. Widely loved and respected, Æthelflaed has all the makings of a leader—but could Saxon warriors ever accept a woman as their ruler? The stage is set for rivals to fight for the empty throne.

Fiction & Literature
January 6

Customer Reviews

Buzz001 ,

The Empty Throne

Cornwell fans will not be disappointed by this latest installment of The Saxon Tales. The usual elements are present, enemies within and without, dire situations requiring the aging but as yet unconquered Uhtred to use the entirety his guile and skill to survive. Assisting him is his daughter Stiorra who emerges as a clever and forceful presence. A quick
satisfying page turner that will leave the reader eager for the next installment. Enjoy!

LordFaramir ,

Needs work

I love the stories, but this particular book was more expensive than the others and has terrible formatting. It repeatedly has words mashed together making it a distracting read. For example, "we have" looks like "wehave". I suspect this is an issue with using an emspace instead of a space, but I expected better. If they fix it, I'll edit this review and give it the 5 stars it deserves as I really love the series.

Oznobdr ,

Uhtred....as always the ultimate pagan!

Another great book by Cromwell, one day Lord Uhtred will die and leave us... But still he fights on and I very much enjoy his adventures....

More Books by Bernard Cornwell

Other Books in This Series