• $2.99

Publisher Description

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England—from the author of Early Riser

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2002
January 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Janice Webb ,

The Eyre Affair

Laughed out loud through this wonderful story then realized I needed to brush up on a few classics from high school. Actually, didn't bother to do that and ordered the next book in his series instead. What fun!

catsna ,

Thursday Next and her travels

This book, the first in the series, is a masterpiece, combining of pure imagination and classic literature. Jasper Fforde has done a fantastic job; my favourite book now and always.

More Books by Jasper Fforde

Other Books in This Series