The Eyre Affair The Eyre Affair
Book 1 - A Thursday Next Novel

The Eyre Affair

A Thursday Next Novel

    • 4.3 • 265 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Meet Thursday Next, literary detective without equal, fear or boyfriend

Jasper Fforde’s beloved New York Times bestselling novel introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England—from the author of The Constant Rabbit


Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2002
January 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Janice Webb ,

The Eyre Affair

Laughed out loud through this wonderful story then realized I needed to brush up on a few classics from high school. Actually, didn't bother to do that and ordered the next book in his series instead. What fun!

catsna ,

Thursday Next and her travels

This book, the first in the series, is a masterpiece, combining of pure imagination and classic literature. Jasper Fforde has done a fantastic job; my favourite book now and always.

More Books Like This

Odds Against Odds Against
2019
Whip Hand Whip Hand
2019
Whip Hand Whip Hand
2019
The Double Game The Double Game
2012
Blood Is Blood Blood Is Blood
2018
The Ghost and the Dead Man's Library The Ghost and the Dead Man's Library
2006

More Books by Jasper Fforde

Shades of Grey Shades of Grey
2009
Lost in a Good Book Lost in a Good Book
2003
The Woman Who Died a Lot The Woman Who Died a Lot
2012
One of Our Thursdays Is Missing One of Our Thursdays Is Missing
2011
The Big Over Easy The Big Over Easy
2005
The Well of Lost Plots The Well of Lost Plots
2004

Customers Also Bought

A Second Chance A Second Chance
2019
Hard Time Hard Time
2020
Hope for the Best Hope for the Best
2019
Saving Time Saving Time
2021
A Symphony of Echoes A Symphony of Echoes
2019
Doing Time Doing Time
2019

Other Books in This Series

Lost in a Good Book Lost in a Good Book
2003
The Well of Lost Plots The Well of Lost Plots
2004
Something Rotten Something Rotten
2004
Thursday Next: First Among Sequels Thursday Next: First Among Sequels
2007
One of Our Thursdays Is Missing One of Our Thursdays Is Missing
2011
The Woman Who Died a Lot The Woman Who Died a Lot
2012