The Floating Theatre The Floating Theatre

The Floating Theatre

This captivating tale of courage and redemption will sweep you away

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

'Completely charming' Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

'An engaging story with lovely detail' Daily Mail

Ohio, 1838. To save the lives of others, a young seamstress must risk her own.

When young seamstress May Bedloe is left alone and penniless on the shore of the Ohio, she finds work on the famous floating theatre that plies its trade along the river. Her creativity and needlework skills quickly become invaluable and she settles in to life among the colourful troupe of actors. She finds friends, and possibly the promise of more ...

But cruising the border between the Confederate South and the 'free' North is fraught with danger.

For the sake of a debt that must be repaid, May is compelled to transport secret passengers, under cover of darkness, across the river and on, along the underground railroad.

But as May's secrets become harder to keep, she learns she must endanger those now dear to her.

And to save the lives of others, she must risk her own . . .

A gloriously involving and powerful read for fans of The Essex Serpent and Tracy Chevalier's The Last Runaway.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
June 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bonnier Books UK
SELLER
Hot Key Books Limited
SIZE
2.3
MB

More Books Like This

The Underground River The Underground River
2017
The Affairs of Others The Affairs of Others
2013
The Transformation of Bartholomew Fortuno The Transformation of Bartholomew Fortuno
2010
Murder in the Bermuda Triangle Murder in the Bermuda Triangle
2015
The Beach at Summerly The Beach at Summerly
2023
The Tumbling Turner Sisters The Tumbling Turner Sisters
2016

More Books by Martha Conway

The Underground River The Underground River
2017
The Physician's Daughter The Physician's Daughter
2022
12 Bliss Street 12 Bliss Street
2003
Le fleuve de la liberté Le fleuve de la liberté
2018
Il teatro galleggiante Il teatro galleggiante
2018
El teatro flotante El teatro flotante
2017

Customers Also Bought

The Familiars The Familiars
2019
Baby It's Cold Outside Baby It's Cold Outside
2021
The Lost Bookshop The Lost Bookshop
2023
The Beekeeper of Aleppo The Beekeeper of Aleppo
2019
The Alice Network The Alice Network
2017
The Watchmaker's Daughter The Watchmaker's Daughter
2016