The Girl from Bologna The Girl from Bologna

The Girl from Bologna

A heart-wrenching historical novel from Siobhan Daiko

    • 4.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

A tale of courage, loss and heart-wrenching redemption.

1944

Bologna, Italy, and the streets are crawling with German soldiers. Nineteen-year-old Leila Venturi is shocked into joining the Resistance after her beloved best friend Rebecca, the daughter of a prominent Jewish businessman, is ruthlessly deported to a concentration camp.

1981

Exchange student Rhiannon Hughes arrives in Bologna and meets Leila, her landlady. Soon, Rhiannon finds herself being drawn into a web of intrigue. Leila’s nephew seems to be interested in a far-right group, but how is the nefarious leader connected to Leila?

As dark secrets emerge from the past, Rhiannon is faced with a terrible choice. Will she take her courage into both hands and risk everything?

Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen, Fiona Valpy, and Victoria Hislop.

Praise for Siobhan Daiko:

’I was completely absorbed by … all the characters and intrigue.’ Angela Petch, bestselling author of The Tuscan Secret.

‘This is a beautiful story with a compelling historical storyline that you won’t want to put down.’ Ann Bennett, bestselling author of The Orphan House.

‘Siobhan Daiko will tug at your heartstrings, and leave you desperate for more.’ The Coffee Pot Book Club.

‘This was one of those I never want it to end books.’ Goodreads Reviewer

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
August 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SELLER
Boldwood Books Ltd
SIZE
1.3
MB

More Books Like This

Dreaming In French Dreaming In French
2023
Casa Rossa Casa Rossa
2002
The Summer We Came to Life The Summer We Came to Life
2011
Broken Paradise Broken Paradise
2007
Pentecost Island Books 1-3 Pentecost Island Books 1-3
2020
Carnality Carnality
2022

More Books by Siobhan Daiko

The Girl from Portofino The Girl from Portofino
2023
The Tuscan Orphan The Tuscan Orphan
2023
The Girl from Venice The Girl from Venice
2023
The Flame Tree The Flame Tree
2023
Fragrant Haven Fragrant Haven
2015
The Orchid Tree The Orchid Tree
2015

Customers Also Bought

Rosemary for Remembrance Rosemary for Remembrance
2017
The Code Breaker's Secret The Code Breaker's Secret
2023
A Mother's War A Mother's War
2023
The Austrian Bride The Austrian Bride
2024
Sisters at War Sisters at War
2023
The Officer's Wife The Officer's Wife
2023