The Lost Daughters of Ukraine The Lost Daughters of Ukraine

The Lost Daughters of Ukraine

A heartbreaking WW2 historical novel inspired by a true story - From the bestselling author of The Memory Keeper of Kyiv.

    • 4.6 • 18 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

The brand new historical novel from Erin Litteken, bestselling author of The Memory Keeper of Kyiv, based on her family's heart-wrenching escape from war-torn Europe.

A story of the strength of the human spirit, the personal cost of conflict and how love can be found even in the darkest times.

Summer 1941. War rages in Europe. The Germans march towards Ukraine. Halya, Liliya and Vika are no strangers to sorrow. They lost family during the Holodomor, loved ones in Stalin's purges, and war looms once more on the horizon.

Vika lives in fear for her children. She and her sister survived the terror famine by leaving their whole family behind. Now, years later, many believe the Germans will free them from the Soviets, but she’s not so sure. Should they stay in Volhynia or flee the approaching Eastern front?

Liliya has lost too much in her 17 years. As those around her join the resistance, Liliya wonders how she can fight for her friends, family, and country. When the choice is made for her, can she find the will to survive and protect those still with her?

Twelve-year-old Halya is struggling to discover who she is. But as the war escalates, can her mother Katya’s tactics keep her safe from the Nazi soldiers rounding up slave laborers? How can a child survive the horrors of war on her own?

These daughters of Ukraine will face devastation and loss as they fight to survive and protect the ones they love.

A gripping page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of The Nightingale and The Rose Code

"A beautiful, hard-hitting tribute to her own family's history and to the people of unbowed, unbroken Ukraine" Amanda McCrina, author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen

"Litteken’s compelling, well-researched and moving storytelling soars as it brings to life a harrowing slice of history while intricately highlighting the past that echoes to the present day" Marina Scott, author of The Hunger Between Us

"A multi-layered saga woven with history and heart... An unforgettable gem of historical fiction" Paulette Kennedy, bestselling author of The Witch of Tin Mountain

"Erin Litteken gives voice to WWII Ukraine with gritty authenticity...The Lost Daughters of Ukraine is a broom to sweep out Putin's propaganda" Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch, author of Making Bombs for Hitler and Winterkill

"A powerful and heart-rending work of fiction that depicts the stunning strength and endurance of a Ukrainian family... In times when it is sorely needed, this remarkable story is written with tenderness and courage." Kimberly Brock, bestselling author of The Lost Book of Eleanor Dare

"Vivid, heartfelt and informative" Historical Novel Society

Praise for The Memory Keeper of Kyiv:

"A compelling and intimate story of love and survival. Harrowing and haunting . . . yet, at the same time, it is sensitive, beautiful and inspiring. Everybody should read this story, especially now. I cannot recommend it highly enough." Christy Lefteri, author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo

"A powerfully moving debut... Ukraine's tragic history painfully echoes its current crisis, and on every page the Ukrainian spirit shines out, unbowed, unbent and unbroken." Kate Quinn, author of The Rose Code and The Alice Network

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
April 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
411
Pages
PUBLISHER
Boldwood Books
SELLER
Boldwood Books Ltd
SIZE
684.3
KB

More Books Like This

Lost Souls of Leningrad Lost Souls of Leningrad
2022
The Tuscan Contessa The Tuscan Contessa
2020
The Girl from Guernica The Girl from Guernica
2022
How Dare The Birds Sing How Dare The Birds Sing
2019
Irena's War Irena's War
2020
The Forest of Vanishing Stars The Forest of Vanishing Stars
2021

More Books by Erin Litteken

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv The Memory Keeper of Kyiv
2022
La guardiana de recuerdos de Kyiv La guardiana de recuerdos de Kyiv
2022
La Jeune Fille de Kiev La Jeune Fille de Kiev
2022
Wären wir Vögel am Himmel Wären wir Vögel am Himmel
2024
Herbář vzpomínek Herbář vzpomínek
2023
Ukrajna lányai Ukrajna lányai
2023

Customers Also Bought

The Orphans of Berlin The Orphans of Berlin
2022
The Tuscan Orphan The Tuscan Orphan
2023
Sisters at War Sisters at War
2023
The Girl from Bologna The Girl from Bologna
2023
A Mother's War A Mother's War
2023
All the Courage We Have Found All the Courage We Have Found
2023