• $4.99

Publisher Description

USA TODAY BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, R. K. Jackson’s lyrical, twisty psychological thriller debut follows an aspiring journalist as she uncovers dark truths in a seaswept Southern town—aided by a mysterious outcast and pursued by a ruthless killer.
 
When Martha Covington moves to Amberleen, Georgia, after her release from a psychiatric ward, she thinks her breakdown is behind her. A small town with a rich history, Amberleen feels like a fresh start. Taking a summer internship with the local historical society, Martha is tasked with gathering the stories of the Geechee residents of nearby Shell Heap Island, the descendants of slaves who have lived by their own traditions for the last three hundred years.
 
As Martha delves into her work, the voices she thought she left behind start whispering again, and she begins to doubt her recovery. When a grisly murder occurs, Martha finds herself at the center of a perfect storm—and she’s the perfect suspect. Without a soul to vouch for her innocence or her sanity, Martha disappears into the wilderness, battling the pull of madness and struggling to piece together a supernatural puzzle of age-old resentments, broken promises, and cold-blooded murder. She finds an unexpected ally in a handsome young man fighting his own battles. With his help, Martha journeys through a terrifying labyrinth—to find the truth and clear her name, if she can survive to tell the tale.

Praise for The Girl in the Maze
 
“A Southern Gothic thriller with a twisty plot and echoes of Tana French.”—Dianne Emley, bestselling author of Killing Secrets

The Girl in the Maze has suspense, action, memorable characters and even a perfect storm.”Savannah Morning News

“One of the best books I’ve read [this year] . . . The Girl in the Maze is a genre-crushing story that’s part mystery, part thriller, with elements of horror. The result is a terribly entertaining novel.”Cemetery Dance

“I’m very familiar with coastal Georgia, including Savannah and the islands. Somehow, Jackson has captured the mysterious beauty and sense of impending danger one always feels there. The setting itself becomes both a mirror and a character in this intriguing and suspenseful story.”—Barbara Lebow, Guggenheim Fellow, author of A Shayna Maidel
 
The Girl in the Maze is as mysterious and suspenseful as it is intriguing—much like Georgia’s coastal marshland, where the tale is set.”Santa Barbara News-Press

“This scared the hell out of me.”—Laura Otis, MacArthur Fellow, author of Müller’s Lab
 
“A suspenseful book, well written, and with a beautiful setting rich in history. I thoroughly enjoyed this supernatural thriller, and recommend it to all fans of the genre.”—I Heart Reading

“A fast-paced psychological thriller that keeps you engaged from beginning to end.”—Reading Femme
 
“Enthralling . . . a psycho-thriller of dark secrets in a small historic Georgian coastal town.”—Judith D. Collins Must Read Books

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
September 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
301
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

kn94chevy ,

$.99 Gem

This is a great read and I highly recommend it. I'm sure the sequel will be a lot more than .99 and I'm also sure I'll be buying it.

le_ting-a-ling ,

Engrossing and atmospheric!

This debut novel has so much to enjoy—not only the sensitively wrought characters, the intricate plot, and the naturalistic dialogue, but also the evocative portrait of its setting. The Georgia coast, so memorably depicted in Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, is offered from another viewpoint, conjured here with particular skill and artistry. A thread of the paranormal woven through the plot seems quite at home in this tale, given the mysterious ambiance of its locale.

I am frankly eager to read it again and recommend it to those whom I believe will enjoy it. Some of the more literal-mided might take issue with the story's few fanciful elements, but most others should find this spooky thriller to be a charming and absorbing read.

Kayak Jay ,

Starts Slow and Ramps Up the Tension

This is a wonderful trip into the mind and world of a person who hears voices in her head. The story is a mystery thriller, where the reader knows too much and fears for the characters. From a slow beginning, the tension and suspense ramps up to a most dramatic ending. The key to everything lies in a story from the past. As good guys drop from actions of the bad guys, the reader begins to despair. As the story ends, some despair may be justified. Greed, ambition, and man's inhumanity to man are powerful forces. Not as powerful as a hurricane, but much more deadly.

More Books by R.K. Jackson

Other Books in This Series