The Hidden Women The Hidden Women

The Hidden Women

An inspirational historical novel about sisterhood

    • 4.1 • 47 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

From the bestselling author of The Girl In The Picture comes a beautiful new timeslip novel.

Berkshire, 1944
When Will Bates offers to take ATA pilot Lilian Miles to the dance, he sends her heart into a flutter. But as their relationship progresses, Lilian can’t help but get cold feet. Deep down she’s always known that the secrets locked in her past would weigh heavily on her future happiness…

London, 2018
Helena Miles loves nothing more than digging into the back stories of celebrity families, making her perfectly suited for her job as a researcher on the hit show Where Did You Come From?. But when handsome superstar Jack Jones sweeps into her life, she unexpectedly finds herself trawling through her own family history.

As she explores her family’s past, she discovers that there are far more secrets hidden there than she ever expected… What really happened to her aunt Lilian during the war, and why can’t she open up about it now?

An inspirational tale of sisterhood and strength, perfect for fans of Tracy Rees and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers love Kerry Barrett:

‘All Kerry Barrett's books are brilliant’

‘I'd highly recommend this: detective fiction, historical fiction, powerful, moving, thrilling, sometimes comic, always very human.’

‘A beautiful story which kept me hooked’

‘I would definitely recommend this read, but be warned, you won't want to put it down.’

‘Loved the whole story, couldn't put it down’

‘Will definitely read more from this author’

About the author

Kerry Barrett was a bookworm from a very early age and did a degree in English Literature, then trained as a journalist, writing about everything from pub grub to EastEnders. Her first novel, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, took six years to finish and was mostly written in longhand on her commute to work, giving her a very good reason to buy beautiful notebooks. Kerry lives in London with her husband and two sons, and Noel Streatfeild’s Ballet Shoes is still her favourite novel.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
January 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
4.2
MB

Customer Reviews

cassiew16 ,

Dual Timeline World War II Historical

The Hidden Women by Kerry Barrett is Split Timeline World War II Historical and Modern Fiction. The timelines in the story are well blended and everyone’s story is complete. I liked that the author wrote each character with age appropriate behavior. This is an interesting story of how the actions of others and our reactions can affect our entire life. Very informative book about the women who served their country in World War II.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. I appreciate the opportunity and thank the author and publisher for allowing me to read, enjoy and review this book.

danish maid ,

I hated this book

It was all about celebrating women secretly helping other women during the war to get abortions..... in sorry but I just can not stomach the killing of babies being something positive. I didn’t even finish the book and the authors main character was a women who had a child after deciding to not have an abortion... she loves her daughter so much yet she’s fine with other women killing their babies. The whole book was full of contradictions and historically inaccurate. Don’t waste your time.

siewertsread ,

The hidden women

Couldn’t put it down! Good read. Interesting history too.

More Books Like This

The Forgotten Girl The Forgotten Girl
2016
The Book of Last Letters The Book of Last Letters
2022
Pretending to Dance Pretending to Dance
2015
Unfinished Symphony Unfinished Symphony
2011
Melody Melody
2011
Feels Like Falling Feels Like Falling
2020

More Books by Kerry Barrett

The Girl in the Picture The Girl in the Picture
2017
The Secrets of Thistle Cottage The Secrets of Thistle Cottage
2021
The Book of Last Letters The Book of Last Letters
2022
The Forgotten Girl The Forgotten Girl
2016
The Smuggler’s Daughter The Smuggler’s Daughter
2020
The Secret Letter The Secret Letter
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Stationmaster’s Daughter The Stationmaster’s Daughter
2019
The Drowned Village The Drowned Village
2018
The Emerald Comb The Emerald Comb
2014
The Girl from Ballymor The Girl from Ballymor
2017
The Forgotten Gift The Forgotten Gift
2020
Fire Fire
2015