The Secret Letter The Secret Letter

The Secret Letter

    • 4.4 • 45 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

‘Incredible… I was enraptured through every single part of it… Made me feel quite emotional… Fabulous read.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

London, 1910. Twenty-one-year-old Esther Watkins would do anything for the Suffragette cause. Imprisoned, force-fed and beaten, she is determined to fight for what she believes is right – no matter what it costs her. With new love Joseph by her side, will she get the better future she dreams of?

Kent, 2019. With her marriage in tatters, school teacher Lizzie Armstrong moves to sleepy Elm Heath for a fresh start, and her pupils and the community soon steal her heart. So when the school is threatened with closure Lizzie knows she has to fight, and she looks to the school’s founder for inspiration.

What makes Esther, born and bred in London, a proud Suffragette, suddenly leave the city and escape to Elm Heath? And when Lizzie uncovers Esther’s heartbreaking secret, could it give her the strength she needs to save not just the school, but her new beginning too?

A heart-wrenching and uplifting novel for fans of Emily Gunnis, Kathleen McGurl and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers LOVE The Secret Letter!

‘Love love love this book!’ Kathleen McGurl, USA Today bestselling author of The Forgotten Secret

‘Pulls you in right away from the first few pages… Hard to put down… I really enjoyed this book.’ NetGalley reviewer

‘Beautiful and heart-wrenching and so impossible to put down!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘A great read!… Have tissues handy! I highly recommend!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘I absolutely adored this book.’ NetGalley reviewer

‘Amazing book!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘Perfectly paced and plotted… I soon found myself lost in the characters’ world and reluctant to put the book down… Brilliant.’ Over the Rainbow Book Blog

‘Sucked me in… I had a hard time putting it down.’ NetGalley reviewer

‘This book honestly has it all… Shocking, heart-warming, funny and superbly researched.’ Readers Enjoy Authors’ Dreams

Reviews

Readers love Kerry Barrett:

‘All Kerry Barrett's books are brilliant’

‘I'd highly recommend this: detective fiction, historical fiction, powerful, moving, thrilling, sometimes comic, always very human.’

‘A beautiful story which kept me hooked’

‘I would definitely recommend this read, but be warned, you won't want to put it down.’

‘Loved the whole story, couldn't put it down’

‘Will definitely read more from this author’

About the author

Kerry Barrett was a bookworm from a very early age and did a degree in English Literature, then trained as a journalist, writing about everything from pub grub to EastEnders. Her first novel, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, took six years to finish and was mostly written in longhand on her commute to work, giving her a very good reason to buy beautiful notebooks. Kerry lives in London with her husband and two sons, and Noel Streatfeild’s Ballet Shoes is still her favourite novel.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2020
February 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
3.2
MB

More Books Like This

A Step In Time A Step In Time
2015
A Patchwork Family A Patchwork Family
2020
The Seamstress on Cider Lane: A Heartwarming WW2 Historical Romance The Seamstress on Cider Lane: A Heartwarming WW2 Historical Romance
2024
A Vintage Summer A Vintage Summer
2019
Notting Hill in the Snow Notting Hill in the Snow
2019
My Little Rock Airman My Little Rock Airman
2019

More Books by Kerry Barrett

The Girl in the Picture The Girl in the Picture
2017
The Secrets of Thistle Cottage The Secrets of Thistle Cottage
2021
The Book of Last Letters The Book of Last Letters
2022
The Hidden Women The Hidden Women
2019
The Forgotten Girl The Forgotten Girl
2016
The Smuggler’s Daughter The Smuggler’s Daughter
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Forgotten Gift The Forgotten Gift
2020
The Stationmaster’s Daughter The Stationmaster’s Daughter
2019
The Daughters of Red Hill Hall The Daughters of Red Hill Hall
2016
Fire Fire
2015
The Secret of the Chateau The Secret of the Chateau
2020
The Drowned Village The Drowned Village
2018