The Honeymoon The Honeymoon

The Honeymoon

A Novel of George Eliot

    • 3.5 • 6 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

A captivating reimagining of the life and turbulent marriage of Middlemarch author George Eliot—perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Lily King’s Euphoria

“A deep dive into love’s turbulent waters, and into the mysterious heart of a person we thought we knew best.” —Vogue

Dinitia Smith’s spellbinding historical fiction novel recounts George Eliot’s honeymoon in Venice in June 1880 following her marriage to a handsome young man 20 years her junior. When she agreed to marry John Walter Cross, Eliot was recovering from the death of George Henry Lewes, her beloved companion of 26 years. Eliot was bereft—left at the age of 60 to contemplate profound questions about her physical decline, her fading appeal, and the prospect of loneliness.
 
In her youth, Eliot was Mary Ann Evans. A country girl considered too plain to marry, she educated herself to secure a livelihood. In an era when female novelists were objects of wonder, she became the most famous writer of her day—with a male nom de plume. 
 
The Honeymoon explores love in its many forms, and of the possibilities of redemption and happiness in an imperfect union. Smith integrates historical truth with her own rich rendition of Eliot’s inner voice, crafting a page-turner that is as intelligent as it is gripping.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
May 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Other Press
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
7.2
MB

More Books Like This

Unforgivable Love Unforgivable Love
2017
Her Father's Daughter Her Father's Daughter
2023
Storyville Storyville
1993
The Perfect Christmas The Perfect Christmas
2020
A Step In The Dark A Step In The Dark
2011
The Jeweller's Wife The Jeweller's Wife
2015

More Books by Dinitia Smith

The Prince The Prince
2022
The Illusionist The Illusionist
2015

Customers Also Bought

Swann's Way Swann's Way
2020
The Blue Castle The Blue Castle
2022
Mr. Emerson's Wife Mr. Emerson's Wife
2006
Unsaid Unsaid
2011
The Goddess Abides The Goddess Abides
2013
Out of Ireland Out of Ireland
2023