• $9.99

Publisher Description

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why -- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.

To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House where every room bears the old man's touch -- and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
September 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
3.1
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 7-12

Customer Reviews

heyitssunev ,

Best book EVER

This book really just hit all my favorites in a book. Witty characters, great mystery with lots of questions to be answered, and an ending that leaves me wanting more. I have never had a book that gets all my wants done so perfectly. I haven’t been the same since it ended. Im reading more of Jennifer Lynn Barnes books to hold me down while I wait for the second book to come out on Tuesday.

amking36 ,

Thrilling, but sometimes missing

Overall, it was a great read. Short chapters. Well designed characters. The twists and turns were always coming. The puzzle fit together well in the end. Still a couple threads left, but I think those were left for the sequel. What was missing was the actual love connections. This isn’t a romance novel, but romance was written in. However, it felt forced and kind of unnecessary at times. The story would have worked without it. I am excited and ready to read the sequel. I definitely recommend the book to anyone wanting a quick and easy mystery novel.

hawtt potato ,

It’s a good short read

I’d recommend it to young readers looking for an exciting mystery.

More Books by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Other Books in This Series