• $7.99

Publisher Description

In an explosive thriller for readers of Lee Child, Alex Berenson, and Brad Taylor, P.I. and security specialist Jamie Sinclair finds herself caught in a dangerous game of international cat-and-mouse.
 
Jamie Sinclair’s father has never asked her for a favor in her life. The former two-star general turned senator is more in the habit of giving his only child orders. So when he requests Jamie’s expertise as a security specialist, she can’t refuse—even though it means slamming the brakes on her burgeoning relationship with military police officer Adam Barrett. Just like that, Jamie hops aboard a flight to London with a U.S. State Department courier carrying a diplomatic pouch in an iron grip.
 
Jamie doesn’t have to wait long to put her unique skills to good use. When she and the courier are jumped by goons outside the Heathrow terminal, Jamie fights them off—but the incident puts her on high alert. Someone’s willing to kill for the contents of the bag. Then a would-be assassin opens fire in crowded Covent Garden, and Jamie is stunned to spot a familiar face: Adam Barrett, who saves her life with a single shot and calmly slips away. Jamie’s head—and her heart—tell her that something is very wrong. But she’s come way too far to turn back now.

Don’t miss any of Nichole Christoff’s white-knuckle Jamie Sinclair thrillers:

THE KILL LIST | THE KILL SHOT | THE KILL BOX | THE KILL SIGN | THE KILL WIRE | THE KILL CHAIN
 
Praise for The Kill Shot
 
“The adventure begins without delay and with tight writing to keep up the momentum. . . . Thanks to Christoff’s labyrinth-style of intrigue and mystery, the enjoyment is in trying to solve the puzzle. Good luck, because in The Kill Shot, Christoff doesn’t make the adventure a cake walk. She understands how to keep her readers riveted from beginning to end.”USA Today

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
March 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
282
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Baodan2985 ,

Uh...what?!

I read all three books in this series because I like the author's writing style, but I read them out of order. Good thing,too, because if I'd read them in order I'd have stopped at this one. Why? Because I can not relate or rationalize the protagonist's line of reasoning. For example, the guy she's interested in shoots and kills an assassin who is in the immediate process of shooting and trying to kill her and 3 other citizens. So, yeah, he killed a man. A man pointing a smoking gun at innocents, preparing to shoot again. And her reaction? "As a result I wasn't sure how I was supposed to feel. And I was no longer certain what kind of man Barrett really was."
Uh...what?! Seriously? He's the kind of man that won't allow a trained killer to gun down innocents. He just saved your freakin' life!
Whatever. This protag is supposed to be smart and resourceful but I also can't rationalize why the government would send her (a security specialist) to escort Middle East nuclear physic defectors. They bypass cia operatives and military specialist and send a private investigator? Right.
And then both that Middle East country and another country infiltrate a US secret military establishment hidden in the Midwest? In this post 9/11 world? Right again.
So many times, this book loses me with both the protag's thought processes and general implausibility.
Other than that...it's okay.

NiagaraMichael ,

Entertaing while reading, but forgettable

A week after reading this novel, I had to think for a few minutes to remember the story.

After I did recall the plot, I remembered that I hadn't written a review.

The book isn't badly written, certainly isn't clunky, but there's nothing memorable about it except the author's obsession with designer clothes, shoes, and handbags.

I read a lot of thrillers (Baldacci, Berenson, Plame, Coes, Silva, Thor, Flynn, Reich, Ludlum, Hobbs, etc.), but I've never read a book with so many brand names tossed into it. This actually serves to stop the story and truncate the action each time a luxury goods name pops up.

Believe me, these designer names are everywhere, like mini-commercials.

The relationship and teamwork between the action heroine, Jamie, and the action hero, Adam, is okay, but the author seems to be the one primarily obsessed with Adam's beefy body.

Additionally, the control Jamie's powerful father has over her gets absurd. It also serves to get in the way of the story.

Freud would have a field day analyzing their relationship and also the author's obsession with Adam's looks.

Who's fantasy is it?

"The Kill Shot" entertains, but it doesn't satisfy.

Lucyspot ,

Far out there

Not a great book, reads a bit like a chick book and at times a Bloomingdales catalog. Impossible situations easily escaped. I'll pass on the next book

More Books by Nichole Christoff

Other Books in This Series