The Land of Forgotten Girls The Land of Forgotten Girls

The Land of Forgotten Girls

    • 4.6 • 13 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls “A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove—their mythical, world-traveling aunt—is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, “Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.”

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2016
March 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Greenwillow Books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
865.3
KB
AUDIENCE
Grades 3-7

Customer Reviews

booklover💕 ,

The Land of Forggotten Land

This is the best book I’ve read. It has all the emotions I want in a book. It exciting to find out what they’ll do or what adventures they’ll fall into.

Totoro57447 ,

Eg

Sorta sad a little boring

More Books Like This

Sammy Keyes and the Runaway Elf Sammy Keyes and the Runaway Elf
1999
Enter: Ten Tales for Tweens - Fantastic Short Stories for Middle Grade Readers Enter: Ten Tales for Tweens - Fantastic Short Stories for Middle Grade Readers
2012
The Secret Tree The Secret Tree
2012
The Secrets Within The Secrets Within
2013
A Dark Inheritance (UFiles, Book 1) A Dark Inheritance (UFiles, Book 1)
2014
Spirits of the Season Spirits of the Season
2012

More Books by Erin Entrada Kelly

Hello, Universe Hello, Universe
2017
We Dream of Space We Dream of Space
2020
Blackbird Fly Blackbird Fly
2015
Hello, Universe Hello, Universe
2020
You Go First You Go First
2018
Lalani of the Distant Sea Lalani of the Distant Sea
2019