The Light We Left Behind

    • 4.2 • 70 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

‘How did I not know anything about this?! A beautifully written book.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

England: 1944

When psychologist Maddie Gresham is sent a mysterious message telling her to report to Trent Park mansion, she wonders how she will be helping the war effort from a stately home.
 
She soon finds captured Nazi generals are being detained at the house. Bugged with listening devices in every room, it’s up to Maddie to gain the Nazis’ trust and coax them into giving up information.
 
When Max Weitzler, a Jewish refugee, also arrives at Trent Park with the same mission, Maddie finds herself trapped in a dangerous game of chess.

The two met in Germany before the war, and Maddie’s heart was his from the moment they locked eyes.

But Maddie has finally gained the trust of the Nazi officers at the house, and her love for Max must remain a secret.
 
When the walls have ears, who can you trust?

Based on the true events that took place at Trent Park during WWII, this is an emotionally gripping, and heart-breaking novel about love, sacrifice, and betrayal, perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Lost Girls of Paris.

Readers LOVE The Light We Left Behind!

‘I loved everything about this book – it has it all! Well-written, well-paced, fascinating and gripping from the beginning right through to the end.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This is story-telling of the highest order, well-paced and compelling… this was a story that swept me away.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A beautiful story with a strong and courageous heroine. I couldn’t put this down! Beautiful writing kept me turning the pages.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Absolutely brilliant, five stars from me.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A beautiful read.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An unputdownable book.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I read it so quickly as I couldn’t put it down.’ – NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

‘A fascinating read of intrigue, fear, espionage and romance set in Trent Park. I enjoyed reading the challenges faced by the main character, Maddie. This is a story based upon fact and one I recommend if you enjoy WWII novels.’ – Glynis Peters

‘It's so wonderful to read about lesser known stories of the second world war, and all those unsung heroes who had to hold onto their secrets all their lives. I was completely immersed in this book from start to finish.’ – Kathleen McGurl

‘A compelling exploration of a little-known aspect of the Second World War. One young woman’s dangerous undercover activities provide a chilling close-up of the men behind some of the worst atrocities of the war.’ – Sarah Steele

‘The Light We Left Behind is a beautiful story of suspense, love and war that pulled me in from the very first page. I couldn't put it down! Highly recommend to everyone who enjoys historical fiction.’ – Lana Kortchik

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
December 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
HQ Digital
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.2
MB

More Books by Tessa Harris

2011
2020
2012
2013
2014
2016

Customers Also Bought

2021
2020
2020
2021
2021
2022