The Pennymores and the Curse of the Invisible Quill

    • 4.7 • 6 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

"We couldn't put it down." - New York Weekly

"Exceptional" and "Filled with heart" - Latin Post

The new fantasy series delighting fans of Harry Potter, Narnia, Percy Jackson, The School of Good and Evil, & the Hobbit.

When her brother vanishes in the night, along with all she thought to be true of magic, Parker Pennymore must unmask family secrets, travel far beyond the castle walls, and convince her sisters to break a few laws along the way - but what's a hero's journey without a little rebellion?

Created first as a bedtime story with his daughters, The Pennymores explores a world where all writing has been banned for centuries (a setting inspired by the true-life events of Nobel Prize winner Malala Yousafzai). But when an unstoppable enemy returns threatening the destroy their world, the Pennymores must set off on a quest taking them inside hidden mystical realms, confronting ancient challenges, and forcing them to step closer to the heroes they are destined to be.

This "supernatural adventure story, filled with atmosphere, twists, the sublime and dripping with heart" (NY Weekly) features fast-paced action, surprising twists, spunky, funny, and relatable characters exploring fantastical magic and is perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Narnia, & The School of Good & Evil.

Praise for The Pennymores from early readers:

"I'm more attached to it than any book I've read" - Jack (10)

"My kids won't stop talking about this book and these characters." Nicole F. (San Diego)

"I loved it so much that I read it again and again." Kate (10)

"Our class is in love with this book." - Mary Ann M (8th grade English teacher, Oshkosh, WI)

"I want to be a Pennymore sister." - Audrey (8)

"Finally a new series for my kids who read every Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Lord of the Rings, and Narnia book." Jeff K. (Omaha)

Proceeds of preorders of the book benefit the Malala Fund for children's literacy.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2022
April 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
485
Pages
PUBLISHER
Eric Koester
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
9.7
MB

Customer Reviews

mDav ,

Adults and kids alike will enjoy!

Oh. Mylanta. This book was SO good. I can’t even!

I loved reading something entirely different from my norm, and found myself immersed in the world and story quite quickly. The worldbuilding was fantastic (and to a level I’ve not seen in some time–really since Harry Potter).

The read was a bit denser than I expected for a middle-grade read–if I can continue with Harry Potter references, it’d probably be on par with Order of the Phoenix. 🙂 I’m surprised it clocks in at under 400 pages! So, I’d say more advanced readers would probably enjoy and have the patience for it. I loved it, and think adults would too, especially fellow fans of HP, Narnia, Lord of the Rings, Fablehaven, and Eragon.

So, so, so good–and I selfishly really hope the authors make an appearance at a local comic-con. 😉

I received an eARC of the book from the publisher via NetGalley. All opinions are my own.

bffhwhrdgjy ,

Pretty good book!

I loved the concept and storyline of this book, but I had a hard time getting into it at first. After the first few chapters it got better and I found myself enjoying the book. Definitely a great magical read for middle graders and young adults.

Customers Also Bought

2013
2011
2017
2009
2018
2018