The Prime Minister's Secret Agent The Prime Minister's Secret Agent
Book 4 - Maggie Hope

The Prime Minister's Secret Agent

A Maggie Hope Mystery

    • 4.3 • 116 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry comes a gripping mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. This time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.
 
World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow—including one of Maggie’s dearest friends—Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it’s the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war—and indelibly shape Maggie’s fate.

Praise for The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent
 
“[A] stellar series . . . [Susan Elia] MacNeal has written an impeccably researched, wonderfully engaging story.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune
 
“A treat for WWII buffs and mystery lovers alike.”Booklist
 
“[MacNeal] seamlessly mixes fact and fiction.”Publishers Weekly
 
“Splendid . . . riveting . . . The research is complete and fascinating. . . . The scenes are so detailed that readers will feel as if they are next to the characters and listening to them speaking.”RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)
 
“Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd will feast on this riveting series chronicling Britain’s own ‘Greatest Generation.’ MacNeal’s research and gift for dialogue shine through on every page, transporting the reader to Churchill’s inner circle. The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent is both top-drawer historical fiction and mystery in its finest hour.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of Through the Evil Days
 
Praise for Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope mysteries
 
“You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“A heart-pounding novel peopled with fully drawn real and fictional characters . . . provides the thrills that readers have come to expect from MacNeal.”Richmond Times-Dispatch, on His Majesty’s Hope
 
“With false starts, double agents, and red herrings . . . MacNeal provides a vivid view of life both above and below stairs at Windsor Castle.”Publishers Weekly, on Princess Elizabeth’s Spy

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2014
July 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
8.3
MB

Customer Reviews

kronsmb ,

Inaccurate and poorly edited

A decent read, not up to her prior work. The historical inaccuracies and poor research are very distracting. US naval ranks are constantly misidentified with a sailors rank described as a private and a four star Admiral as a Rear Admiral. Churchill on the night of a Pearl Harbor proclaims Britain lost the Prince of Wales the day before. He refers to Singapore and Malaysia as taken by the Japanese weeks before Pearl Harbor. These are but a few of the incorrect historical and factual background found throughout this work of fiction. Actually, the errors are inexcusable. A decent editor who wasn't sleeping at the switch would never have betrayed an author by printing this. Professionally weak.

More Books Like This

Moonstones and Murder Moonstones and Murder
2022
Out of the Deep I Cry Out of the Deep I Cry
2007
In the Bleak Midwinter In the Bleak Midwinter
2007
The Other Side The Other Side
2010
The Glass Ocean The Glass Ocean
2018
Burnout Burnout
2022

More Books by Susan Elia MacNeal

Mr. Churchill's Secretary Mr. Churchill's Secretary
2012
The Last Hope The Last Hope
2024
Princess Elizabeth's Spy Princess Elizabeth's Spy
2012
His Majesty's Hope His Majesty's Hope
2013
The Paris Spy The Paris Spy
2017
Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante
2015

Customers Also Bought

Leaving Everything Most Loved Leaving Everything Most Loved
2013
Elegy for Eddie Elegy for Eddie
2012
In This Grave Hour In This Grave Hour
2017
To Die but Once To Die but Once
2018
A Most Novel Revenge A Most Novel Revenge
2016
A Lesson in Secrets A Lesson in Secrets
2011

Other Books in This Series

Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante
2015
The Queen's Accomplice The Queen's Accomplice
2016
The Paris Spy The Paris Spy
2017
The Prisoner in the Castle The Prisoner in the Castle
2018
The King's Justice The King's Justice
2020
The Hollywood Spy The Hollywood Spy
2021