The Queen's Assassin The Queen's Assassin

The Queen's Assassin

    • 3.8 • 97 Ratings
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

A New York Times and Indie Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Caledon Holt is the kingdom's deadliest weapon. No one alive can best him in speed, strength, or brains, which is why he's the Hearthstone Guild's most dangerous member. Cal is also the Queen's Assassin, bound to her by magic and unable to leave her service until the task she's set for him is fulfilled.

Shadow of the Honey Glade has been training all her life to join the Guild, hoping that one day she'll become an assassin as feared and revered as Cal. But Shadow's mother and aunts expect her to serve the crown as a lady of the Renovian Court.

When a surprise attack brings Shadow and Cal together, they're forced to team up as assassin and apprentice. Even though Shadow's life belongs to the court and Cal's belongs to the queen, they cannot deny their attraction to each other. But now, with war on the horizon and true love at risk, Shadow and Cal will uncover a shocking web of lies that will change their paths forever.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2020
February 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
4.6
MB

Customer Reviews

We read too much ,

The Queens Assassin

I really liked this book, though the romance was a little disappointing. It had a really good plot and writing so I would recommend it to anybody who likes young adult fiction.

Keni-G. ,

it was alright

The beginning was kinda slow, but like the whole time the story is building up this plot where you think some serious ish is going to go down...but then it doesn’t. The ending is what really disappointed me. I truly think she did Cal dirty, but that’s just my opinion so go find out for yourself;)

Insertsassyname ,

I really did try to like this

Melissa De La Cruz and I just aren’t good friends. Genuinely shook that I finished this because this was A LOT. I tried so many times to crack it open and read it. I finished it about a week ago, and it rolled my eyes throughout the entire time, and tried my best to reread it today before writing my review. But I made it halfway and dnfed the reread.

Wins:

-yes. Wins... okay. The world building. It was a good world. It wasn’t my favorite. I kind of get over the modern day/ magical/ historic esque novels. It was a good world. It wasn’t great.

-the characters. Individually I liked Shadow and Cal. They were cute characters.

-the plot. It wasn’t anything big or out there, I did like it.

Opportunities

-insta love. Insta love, we meet again, that’s 2 books in 2 weeks that I read ( I guess 3 if we’re counting the reread). I’m over it, enough is enough. Enough said.

-the writing style. Man was that a CHOICE. Shadows pov was in first person, and Cals was in third person. I don’t even know how to explain where, I don’t understand it, but yeah, that was a choice.

-the fact that shadow is somehow this bad a character who can cast spells, who can fight and wield a sword... okay. Yeah. Sure.

-another hit on the writing style: it felt very juvenile. Shadow randomly talking to the squirrel. The characters thoughts. The fact that Cal was like “wouldn’t want to cut your cute face off and I guess yours is okay too” (that isn’t a direct quote, but it’s pretty close) and Shadow is happy about that. Alright. No, I would probably be mad at my boy for a good few hours after a comment like that.

So yeah, me and Melissa De La Cruz are officially breaking up. I didn’t want to sit here and slam her book because I know how much work goes into it, but this was a struggle for me. I wanted so badly to like it, I had high hopes; but it genuinely felt like something a very young teenager had written. Young adult very rarely reads like that to me, and I almost never like it when it goes. Sorry to be so negative on this review, but this wasn’t anywhere near my expectations. Also: can we stop with the insta love and the out of nowhere insanely good at everything female characters?

More Books Like This

His Fair Assassin His Fair Assassin
2018
The Kinder Poison The Kinder Poison
2020
For a Muse of Fire For a Muse of Fire
2018
The Empire of Dreams The Empire of Dreams
2020
Dark of the West Dark of the West
2019
Sunbolt Sunbolt
2013

More Books by Melissa de la Cruz

The Isle of the Lost The Isle of the Lost
2015
Witches of East End Witches of East End
2011
Blue Bloods Blue Bloods
2009
Misguided Angel Misguided Angel
2010
Masquerade Masquerade
2009
Van Alen Legacy, The (Blue Bloods, Book 4) Van Alen Legacy, The (Blue Bloods, Book 4)
2009

Customers Also Bought

The Traitor's Game (The Traitor's Game, Book One) The Traitor's Game (The Traitor's Game, Book One)
2018
The Traitor's Kingdom The Traitor's Kingdom
2019
The Traitor's Ruin The Traitor's Ruin
2018
The Traitor's Kiss The Traitor's Kiss
2017
Burning Glass Burning Glass
2016
Crown of Coral and Pearl Crown of Coral and Pearl
2019