• $4.99

Publisher Description

Dive into the secret, ancient, powerful world of two New Orleans families, the Deschanels and the Sullivans…

Amelia and Jacob have landed in a very familiar where. The when is a whole other matter.


Jacob’s first experience time traveling leaves him and Amelia stranded in 1861 Louisiana on the cusp of the Civil War. With no luggage and no invitation, they find themselves at the mercy of Charles and Brigitte Deschanel, who, for now, believe they are cousins visiting from abroad.


The tragic circumstances which led them to flee the present now leave them both struggling to make sense of their own individual grief. Amelia’s sorrow drives her further from Jacob, and into the strange world of an eccentric man, Victor, who knows all too much about her. Jacob’s heartache leaves him cynical and weary, losing sight of who he is and was destined to become.


As the strange and terrible dynamics of the nineteenth century Deschanel family come to light, Amelia and Jacob are each drawn into the family’s complex web in myriad ways, challenging everything they held to be true. These revelations drive a deeper wedge between the couple, placing them in grave danger, from those around them… but also from themselves.


The hands of time have taken hold, and the clock is ticking. The longer they stay, the greater the risk of losing everything.

The House of Crimson and Clover Series

This is the recommended reading order for the series.

Volume I: The Storm and the Darkness

Volume II: Shattered

Volume III: The Illusions of Eventide

Volume IV: Bound

Volume V: Midnight Dynasty

Volume VI: Asunder

Volume VII: Empire of Shadows

Volume VIII: Myths of Midwinter

Volume IX: The Hinterland Veil

Volume X: The Secrets Amongst the Cypress

Volume XI: Within the Garden of Twilight

Volume XII: House of Dusk, House of Dawn

The Saga of Crimson & Clover

A sprawling dynasty. An ancient bloodline. A world of magic and mayhem.

Welcome to the Saga of Crimson & Clover, where all series within are linked but can be equally enjoyed on their own.

Series List

The House of Crimson & Clover Series: Dive into the secretive, ancient, powerful world of the Deschanels & Sullivans

The Midnight Dynasty Series: There’s no place like home.

Vampires of the Merovingi Series: From the ashes of the sorcerer kings rose an empire.

The Seven Series: Seven siblings. Seven years. Seven spellbinding novels.

Visit www.sarahmcradit.com for the latest information, news, and updates.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
October 31
Sarah M. Cradit
Sarah Marie Cradit

Customer Reviews

iloveAC/DC ,

Time Travel to the Saga’s Beginning

The Secrets Amongst the Cypress (SAtC) is Sarah Cradit’s eighth installment in her House of Crimson and Clover series. There are approximately nine tangential short stories that explore various characters and their relationships. As with the rest of the books in this series, SAtC cannot be read as a standalone. The arc of the story line is complex, and the breadth of the characters, time lines and parallel plots becomes more involved with each new installment.

SAtC is primarily a story about Amelia and Jacob. Previously I would have said that Ana and Finn were my favorite characters in this series, however, SAtC has changed my mind! I loved the rich development of Amelia and Jacob both as individuals and as a couple. Without giving too much away, in a prior book, it was revealed that that the two are Cerridewen and Cianan, who are destined to rebirth and rediscovery on their path to be the ultimate hero and heroine of the story. Their trials and tribulations are difficult, but they grow as individuals and a couple as they fight the good fight.

Time travel is effectively used to convey how Amelia & Jacob fit into the legacy as well as to provide the history behind the story. Ms. Cradit’s extensive research on the time period and geographic area is obvious. How Amelia and Jacob attempt to unobtrusively fit into 1861 is sometimes humorous. The rich details, character development, and story background make this fast-paced story highly entertaining. SAtC didn’t advance the plot as much as I expected, but it provided great set up for the next installment.

More Books by Sarah M. Cradit

Other Books in This Series