The Silver Arrow The Silver Arrow

The Silver Arrow

    • 4.5 • 22 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

New York Times bestseller!

A PeopleMagazine Best Book of the Year

An Apple Best Book of the Year

An Amazon Best Book of the Year

"I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best."– Ann Patchett
  From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl.

Dear Uncle Herbert,
You've never met me, but I'm your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present?

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don't have much to look forward to. Why can't Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane -- that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she's never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

Kate and Tom's parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas -- and so does the Silver Arrow -- and soon they're off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.

GENRE
Kids
RELEASED
2020
September 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
68.3
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 3-7

Customer Reviews

COreader1 ,

The Silver Arrow

The Silver Arrow is better than I thought it would be. It’s still not my favorite book but I didn’t expect to like it! Ages 8-11 would enjoy the book and older kids may enjoy it, but the plot could be boring for them. Overall, fantasy lovers would enjoy the book.

stormy breeze ,

The Silver Arrow

What a fun, creative book! Written for ages 6-12, but fun and meaningful for any age. Magic, with a message about preserving the ecology.

DarrisDakaru ,

I loved it

It reminded me longer version of the polar express.

More Books Like This

Granted Granted
2018
Facing the Flame (The Matilda Saga, #7) Facing the Flame (The Matilda Saga, #7)
2017
The Emerald Atlas The Emerald Atlas
2011
Never Girls #6: The Woods Beyond (Disney: The Never Girls) Never Girls #6: The Woods Beyond (Disney: The Never Girls)
2014
Any Which Wall Any Which Wall
2009
The City of Ember Deluxe Edition The City of Ember Deluxe Edition
2013

More Books by Lev Grossman

The Magicians The Magicians
2009
The Magician King The Magician King
2011
The Magician's Land The Magician's Land
2014
The Magicians Trilogy Books 1-3 The Magicians Trilogy Books 1-3
2015
Unfettered Unfettered
2013
The Map of Tiny Perfect Things The Map of Tiny Perfect Things
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Beatryce Prophecy The Beatryce Prophecy
2021
Malamander Malamander
2019
Crenshaw Crenshaw
2015
The Ickabog The Ickabog
2020
Small Spaces Small Spaces
2018
The Storm Runner The Storm Runner
2018