• $3.99

Publisher Description

Two sisters. A surprising inheritance. A summer that changes everything.

 

As children, half-sisters Cassie and Julie were nearly inseparable, bonded through happy, lazy summers playing barefoot in the surf and sleeping out on the porch of their grandmother’s Hamptons beach house. Though from wildly different backgrounds, each magical summer the girls were as close as only best friends, accomplices, sisters can be. But they haven’t spoken in nearly fifteen years—not since the funeral of Cassie’s mother—and now there is only resentment and painful memories between them.

 

Successful and self-contained, Cassie is shocked to learn the requirements of their Nana’s will—that she and Julie spend one final summer together in the Hamptons house in order to inherit. Cassie agrees reluctantly, she needs an excuse to leave Boston and give the growing rumors about her personal life a chance to die down.

 

And for Julie, who is discovering too late the cracks in her marriage, it is the chance to repair at least one damaged relationship. But for the two sisters to regain what they had, they will have to finally confront what happened the night Cassie lost her mother. With their Nana’s wisdom guiding the way, could this summer bring painful discoveries, and a new direction, for both sisters?

 

An emotional and riveting novel full of family drama and dark secrets. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

 

Readers love The Sunset Sisters:

ABSOLUTELY UNPUTDOWNABLE. Warm and emotional. I loved it completely from beginning to end captured my heart from the first page… Brilliant writing, lovable characters, real situations, the book was everything I needed and more.” Book Reviews by Shalini, 5 stars

 

“A simply glorious read!… One of the best books I read this year!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Definitely for fans of Elin Hilderbrand. I absolutely loved it and liked that the drama was intense but there was reprieve and easy reading in between. It was well-written and truly the perfect beach read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“WOW! What an incredible story that brought out so many emotions.” Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

“A fantastic read!… I cried at quite a few spots. I didn't want this book to end!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Delightful, bittersweet and beguiling… Had me utterly enchanted. The Sunset Sisters is uplifting and compelling and I highly recommend it.” Brianne’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

“Brilliant book. Loved it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“The perfect summer story.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“A fantastic, great read. The story is full of emotions. Recommend it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“A great book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Read this in one day.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“A great read… has the full gamut of emotions and it's not to be missed.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“An emotional, heart-warming summer read that is perfect to lay back and relax with on lazy, summer afternoons… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“Love, lies and betrayal at its best. This is a compulsive read, one I had difficulty putting down.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“The kind of story I love! Family secrets, all those skeletons in the closets makes for a book I couldn’t put down!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Amazing, emotional.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“An emotional, heart-warming summer read… will envelope you and not let you out of its grasp until you have read each and every word of this bittersweet, emotional tale… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
June 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
430
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3.5
MB

Customer Reviews

kimbnaz ,

Grab this book for your next vacation.

Cassie and Julie are half-sisters, though Nana would never tolerate the word “half.” Half is not for family, it’s for sandwiches, or something like that. Cassie is Katherine’s and Stephan’s daughter. Supposedly they are the happy marriage. Julie (pronounced with a soft J) is Sophie’s and Stephan’s daughter. Supposedly the happy affair. Neither is 100% happy, as we will find. And though the girls were once as inseparable as best friends, it’s been a very long time since they’ve spoken.

With Nana’s passing, Cassie and Julie will be forced to confront each other and their demons in Montauk at Nana’s beach house. Nana has plans for these girls, and it doesn’t end with their going their separate ways. What Nana wants, Nana will get, at least these were her dying wishes. The giant table for 12 at the beach house attests to what Nana wanted, a happy family sharing meals and lives together.

A beach read of the highest quality, The Sunset Sisters is a story about love and tragedy. About a family torn apart by adultery, lies, abuse and mental illness. About the best and the worst in all of us, and how trauma can affect every bit of our lives. Lyra knows how to tell a story. She gives us two sisters very much alike, but also very different. Shows us how an environment can shape someone in both good and bad ways. Makes the characters flawed, but likeable. All the elements of the perfect summer story.

Annette414 ,

Beach read

A book about two sisters who will inherit their Nana’s house. They have to live together for one month. Sounds easy but they haven’t spoke to each other in years.
Family can be complicated and with secrets more so.
I enjoyed the story, this is the perfect beach read.
Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the early copy

More Books by Cecilia Lyra

Other Books in This Series