• $3.99

Publisher Description

Family always comes first.

 

Alma, New York is the perfect town, right down to the coordinated shopfront decorations on Main Street, and Gina Dewar is the perfect wife, mother, daughter-in-law. She understands the responsibility that comes with marrying into America’s golden family, and she tries not to burden her husband Bobby with drama from her own small-town past.


But a summer house in the Hamptons doesn’t always buy happiness, and the Dewars aren’t quite as apple pie as they seem. When Bobby is publicly accused of having an affair cracks start to appear in the Dewar clan, and when he denies any knowledge, Gina faces an impossible dilemma. Should she stand by her husband, or listen to her sister-in-law, telling her that there is more to this story?

 

As the town explodes with speculation, Gina tries to keep the gossips out of her marriage. After all, no one knows better than her that secrets should stay in the family. But then she hears the rumor that Bobby’s supposed mistress is pregnant and she is shaken to the core. With the future of her family so uncertain, Gina is about to find out what she’s willing to do to protect those she loves…

 

A moving, emotionally gripping novel about family secrets and the space between loyalty and trust. A stunning new read for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

 

Readers love Cecilia Lyra:

“ABSOLUTELY UNPUTDOWNABLE. Warm and emotional. I loved it completely from beginning to end captured my heart from the first page… Brilliant writing, lovable characters, real situations, the book was everything I needed and more.” Book Reviews by Shalini, 5 stars

 

“A simply glorious read!… One of the best books I read this year!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Definitely for fans of Elin Hilderbrand. I absolutely loved it and liked that the drama was intense but there was reprieve and easy reading in between. It was well-written and truly the perfect beach read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“WOW! What an incredible story that brought out so many emotions.” Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

“A fantastic read!… I cried at quite a few spots. I didn't want this book to end!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Delightful, bittersweet and beguiling… Had me utterly enchanted. The Sunset Sisters is uplifting and compelling and I highly recommend it.” Brianne’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

“Brilliant book. Loved it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“The perfect summer story.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“A fantastic, great read. The story is full of emotions. Recommend it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“A great book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Read this in one day.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“A great read… has the full gamut of emotions and it's not to be missed.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“An emotional, heart-warming summer read that is perfect to lay back and relax with on lazy, summer afternoons… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“Love, lies and betrayal at its best. This is a compulsive read, one I had difficulty putting down.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“The kind of story I love! Family secrets, all those skeletons in the closets makes for a book I couldn’t put down!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Amazing, emotional.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“An emotional, heart-warming summer read… will envelope you and not let you out of its grasp until you have read each and every word of this bittersweet, emotional tale… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
September 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
492
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
5.6
MB

Customer Reviews

KHHSC ,

Small town family drama!

Family drama in a small company town. The Dewar clan has dominated both the social and business lives of the residents of Alma, NY, called Almanacs, for generations. The family business, Alma Boots, is the town jewel.

All that is threatened when company CEO Bobby Dewar is threatened with a sexual harassment suit by employee Eva Stone. She says that although their affair was consensual, she was swayed by his power and importance. And she’s now pregnant with twins. It seems that every generation of Dewars produces a set of twins so that adds much credence to her story.

While #metoo posts flood social media, Bobby’s wife Gina is confused. Her sister-in-law Alice, married to Bobby’s twin Nick, is herself a victim of harassment. She talks to Gina about inequity in the workplace but Gina remains loyal. Meanwhile her son Calan is being bullied in school and Alice’s daughter is being raised by the gorgeous nanny Malaika.

While The Faithfuls is a very entertaining novel with many twists and surprises, it also has surprising depth. It examines workplace statistics (not just in Alma) about women’s leadership and salaries relative to men. Through Malaika, author Cecilia Lyra shoes how women sometimes have to make very hard choices to advance their careers. And who could not love Calan, the small teenage boy, moved a year ahead in school, who wants to be a graphic novelist and is unmercifully bullied. This is a thought provoking, entertaining read worth every one of 5 stars.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Cecilia Lyra for this ARC.

More Books by Cecilia Lyra

Other Books in This Series