• $9.99

Publisher Description

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.

Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2017
September 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Blink
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
952.6
KB
AUDIENCE
Grades 8 and Above

Customer Reviews

Retired Scifimom ,

The Thing with Feathers

This story brings into focus the need for hope in all our lives to be able to embrace the wonder of our relationships with others. Young people will be able to easily relate to Emilee’s story and embrace her journey from loss of a “normal” life to her discovery of her new “normal” life. Hope is “The Thing with Feathers”. A great read!

Garcatjen ,

Hope is a Thing With Feathers

Emilie is a teenager with issues. She struggles with returning to high school after homeschooling, with making friends, and with navigating her first crush, a handsome athlete named Chatham.

She also has 2 other issues having nothing to do with being a teenager: grieving her father’s death and dealing with epilepsy.

Emilie’s mom, doctor, and therapist desperately want her to succeed in public school, and try to help her any way they can. Her service dog, Hitch, is by her side every step of the way. With all the love and care she has around her, what does Emilie think could possibly go wrong? Well...everything.

This is a story of a teen wrapped up in a life of high school drama, and more. And it’s a story of hope in the midst of chaos. Finally, it’s a story of love against all odds.

Patsy82 ,

Filled with faith and encouragement

I loved this book, I didn’t want to put it down till I finished it, this book was a wonderful story about a girl who had to learn to live again after her dads death while also dealing with epilepsy. I would definitely recommend this book to teens who feel like they are dealing with things on there own or teens who feel so different that they think they won’t ever be able to fit in to “normal” society.

More Books by McCall Hoyle