The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1) The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1)

The White Rose Murders (Tudor Mysteries, Book 1‪)‬

A gripping Tudor murder mystery

    • 4.0 • 20 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

Anarchy and unrest make for a deadly investigation...

In the first journal of Roger Shallot, the Tudor sleuth writes of the murders and villainy perpetrated during the reign of King Henry VIII in Paul Doherty's masterful novel, The White Rose Murders. Perfect for fans of Susannah Gregory and C. J. Sansom.


'The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters' - Time Out

In 1517 the English armies have defeated and killed James IV of Scotland at Flodden and James's widow-queen, Margaret, sister to Henry VIII, has fled to England, leaving her crown under a Council of Regency.
Roger Shallot is drawn into a web of mystery and murder by his close friendship with Benjamin Daunbey, the nephew of Cardinal Wolsey, first minister of Henry VIII. Benjamin and Roger are ordered into Margaret's household to resolve certain mysteries as well as to bring about her restoration to Scotland.
They begin by questioning Selkirk, a half-mad physician imprisoned in the Tower. He is subsequently found poisoned in a locked chamber guarded by soldiers. The only clue is a poem of riddles. However, the poem contains the seeds for other gruesome murders. The faceless assassin always leaves a white rose, the mark of Les Blancs Sangliers, a secret society plotting the overthrow of the Tudor monarchy...

What readers are saying about The White Rose Murders:
'Roger is a rogue and a villain, but so engaging that the reader soon becomes entangled in the complex mysteries'
'The plots are always original and interesting and populated by a wonderful cast of characters'
'Paul Doherty has a great talent for describing the gory and realistic details of Tudor life and bases his story on facts, which make it credible as well as a very entertaining whodunit'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
November 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
219
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

wwphotosf ,

Not up to Mr. Doherty’s other works

Having read 3 other series by him, this is a total let down. Characters are very difficult to care about or connect to. Will not continue with series

rjlaco ,

A letdown after reading the Shardlake series

After thoroughly enjoying C.J. Sansom’s Matthew Shardlake series I looked for other similar books. I have to say the White Rose Murders was a disappointment. The comparison is like that of a TV movie to an Oscar winning film. The attempt to mix in a humorous narration was more an annoyance than funny. Character development was week and I never felt any connection to the protagonists in the book. Don’t think I will read any more books in this series.

More Books Like This

A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4) A Brood of Vipers (Tudor Mysteries, Book 4)
2012
The Prince of Poison The Prince of Poison
2006
King King
2022
Isabeau Isabeau
2010
Elizabeth I Elizabeth I
2011
King's Man King's Man
2012

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1) A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)
2013
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020

Customers Also Bought

Nightshade Nightshade
2011
A Conspiracy Of Violence A Conspiracy Of Violence
2010
Blood On The Strand Blood On The Strand
2010
The Mark Of A Murderer The Mark Of A Murderer
2010
The Habit of Murder The Habit of Murder
2017
A Killer In Winter A Killer In Winter
2010