Publisher Description

The Zombie Chronicles is a young adult dystopian thriller for fans of The Walking Dead and Hollowland (The Hollows, #1) by Amanda Hocking. Readers who love horror, zombies, and action-based survival stories will love this gripping YA adventure.

BOOK TRAILER: http://youtu.be/ociUHiL1g70

Val was bitten by a zombie and now she's scheduled for lethal injection. Breaking all the rules, Dean Walters snags vials of an experimental serum. But it can't be tested until Val turns into a zombie: something authorities won't allow. Her execution is scheduled to happen before transformation is complete, giving Dean only hours to break her out.

When their helicopter crashes straight into the heart of Zombie Land, his rescue mission becomes a fight for survival…and giving up on Val is NOT an option.
 

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2013
February 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
259
Pages
PUBLISHER
Dark Shadows Publishing
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
913.2
KB

Customer Reviews

Marleneg17 ,

The Zombie Chronicles

Fun, fast paced, quick read!

MLMOH1 ,

Don't pay for it

This book started off fine and I liked the premise, but it quickly went downhill. The dialogue and actions of the characters is just not believable and sometimes eye-rolling. The characters weren't really developed and you don't feel invested in them. This book felt like an alien wrote it and tried to guess what humans would say and do. If you love the zombie genre and can get this free...maybe. Don't pay anything for it though.

Tobyana4 ,

It was ok

There were several things about this book that I liked and several things I didn't. I will start with the bad because I prefer to end on a happy note.

The characters, though interesting, were rediculously naive and childish, to an unrealistic and seriously obnoxious degree. Generally people aren't complete idiots, even when sheltered, and few people refuse to see reason completely when faced with obvious death.

And the other thing that I really didn't like about the book was the obnoxious and continuous recaps at the beginning of every chapter about the chapter before. It's not a tv show that you haven't seen in a week and might have missed or forgotten, it's a chapter in a book that we JUST read. Ten seconds before. We haven't forgotten.

My final critique is the careless writing. Important details in a scene are left out or contradict each other, or forgotten later on. In many instances, the writing sets up scenarios that could have been an interesting conflict, but then nothing comes of it, and the following scenes are far more boring. For instance, Tahoe throws out a bunch of stuff from the car to hide inside. But miraculously none of those things were the vials. An entire scene that might have been quite interesting and make for a more complete feeling book was wasted and forgotten, if it was even realized by the author.

That all being said, I thought it was an interesting story line, with overall like able and interesting characters. Honestly, I think this book has a lot of potential, if a little more time and editing had been done. Friends and family and other fresh eyes are a great tool to use to find holes in the picture and other things that we think about but forget to actually put down on the page. We know our characters inside and out, but sometimes we forget to share all of our insights with our readers.

More Books by Chrissy Peebles

Other Books in This Series