• Pre-Order
    • Expected May 21, 2021
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Then before I could ask any more questions, I was off, on my way to England, lost on a ship with others similar to me… And after fourteen days that felt like months – I was there, dressed in layers of clothes, thick socks and shiny new shoes, which didn’t take the cold away. So this was my strange new home…


When Yvette receives a call to say her estranged father Joe has been attacked in a seemingly random act of violence, she rushes to his side.


But when she arrives, she finds a man different to the larger-than-life father of her memories. Joe is broken, too scared to describe his attacker to the police, and seemingly haunted by memories of his past – memories he’s fought to suppress.


About the boat journey that brought him and his wife Dolina to their new home in a hostile and unwelcoming Britain –
as part of the Windrush Generation. About the secrets left behind in St Lucia… And about the darkest secret of all – the one that he has carried with him since stepping off the boat that cool, wet August day.


As he fights for his life, he begs Yvette to find out what really happened on the last day of that crossing. Because, for forty years, Joe has believed that he killed a man. A man who had loved Dolina too. And who might hold the key to Yvette’s own story…


What follows is a heart-stopping debut novel about family, identity, secrets, lies, and the journeys that define us. It will grip you, challenge you, and ultimately break you into a thousand pieces. Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
AVAILABLE
2021
May 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
333
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
5.3
MB