Too Much Too Much

Too Much

How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today

    • 4.8 • 4 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Lacing cultural criticism, Victorian literature, and storytelling together, "TOO MUCH spills over: with intellect, with sparkling prose, and with the brainy arguments of Vorona Cote, who posits that women are all, in some way or another, still susceptible to being called too much." (Esmé Weijun Wang)

A weeping woman is a monster. So too is a fat woman, a horny woman, a woman shrieking with laughter. Women who are one or more of these things have heard, or perhaps simply intuited, that we are repugnantly excessive, that we have taken illicit liberties to feel or fuck or eat with abandon. After bellowing like a barn animal in orgasm, hoovering a plate of mashed potatoes, or spraying out spit in the heat of expostulation, we've flinched-ugh, that was so gross. I am so gross. On rare occasions, we might revel in our excess--belting out anthems with our friends over karaoke, perhaps--but in the company of less sympathetic souls, our uncertainty always returns. A woman who is Too Much is a woman who reacts to the world with ardent intensity is a woman familiar to lashes of shame and disapproval, from within as well as without.

Written in the tradition of Shrill, Dead Girls, Sex Object and other frank books about the female gaze, TOO MUCH encourages women to reconsider the beauty of their excesses-emotional, physical, and spiritual. Rachel Vorona Cote braids cultural criticism, theory, and storytelling together in her exploration of how culture grinds away our bodies, souls, and sexualities, forcing us into smaller lives than we desire. An erstwhile Victorian scholar, she sees many parallels between that era's fixation on women's "hysterical" behavior and our modern policing of the same; in the space of her writing, you're as likely to encounter Jane Eyre and Lizzie Bennet as you are Britney Spears and Lana Del Rey.
This book will tell the story of how women, from then and now, have learned to draw power from their reservoirs of feeling, all that makes us "Too Much."

GENRE
Nonfiction
RELEASED
2020
February 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grand Central Publishing
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

kit10ly TX ,

Excellent

Hard-core honesty and rigorous scholarship combined, creating space for authentic women’s/femme’s experiences.

More Books Like This

Bitch Bitch
1999
Women and Other Monsters Women and Other Monsters
2021
The Last Gift of Time The Last Gift of Time
1997
Men: Notes from an Ongoing Investigation Men: Notes from an Ongoing Investigation
2014
C**t (20th Anniversary Edition) C**t (20th Anniversary Edition)
2018
The Soul of a Woman The Soul of a Woman
2021

Customers Also Bought

Good and Mad Good and Mad
2018
The Way We Never Were The Way We Never Were
2016
Rest Is Resistance Rest Is Resistance
2022
The Deviant's War The Deviant's War
2020
Stony the Road Stony the Road
2019
Sister Outsider Sister Outsider
2007