• $10.99

Publisher Description

Ella Fleming is on the run from her past and the secrets that could tear her family apart. As a member of the Brookstone Wild West Extravaganza, a wild west show comprised of all-female performers, her uncanny talent for trick riding impresses the viewers. Only while performing can she forget the truth about who she really is--the daughter of a murderer.

Phillip DeShazer blames himself for his father's death and has done his best to bury his guilt in work and drink. Realizing he needs something more, he seeks answers and finds support and kindness from the beautiful Ella Fleming. However, the more she comes to his rescue, the more his guilt grows. He's fallen in love with her and feels confident that she returns his feelings, but until he can overcome the past and let God guide his future, Phillip knows he's not worthy of Ella's love.

Uncertain of what will come their way, Ella and Phillip must learn to trust God even when the road they travel takes them in different directions. Only then can love be a part of their journey.

Fiction & Literature
October 1
Bethany House Publishers
Baker Book House Company

Customer Reviews

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Final book in Brookstone Brides series

What Comes My Way by Tracie Peterson is the final book in the Brookstone Brides trilogy. I thought What Comes My Way was a satisfying conclusion to the series. This is a series of books that you need to read in order. Each book builds upon the previous one with the search for justice for the death of August Reichert running throughout all three books. Ella Fleming had to flee her family farm when Jefferson Spiby wanted her for his bride and her father would not protect her from the letch. Ella has been performing as a trick rider with the Brookstone Wild West Extravaganza with her friends, Mary Reichert and Lizzy Brookstone. Ella has come to care for Phillip DeShazer, but the tremendous guilt he feels regarding his part in his father’s death keeps him drinking copious quantities of alcohol. Ella reassures him the God will forgive his sins if only Phillip asks it. Unfortunately, Phillip is not ready. Mary is engaged to Chris Williams and they are planning their wedding. Lizzy and Wes are touring with the show at Rebecca Brookstone’s request. She wants them to keep an eye on Oliver. It is a good thing Lizzy is present because the new seamstress, Amanda Moore has sunk her claws into Oliver. Lizzy does not trust the seamstress who spends more time with Oliver than with a needle and thread. I thought What Comes My Way contained Tracie Peterson’s trademark writing along with strong female characters. Faith, prayer, forgiveness and trusting God are themes that run throughout the story. My favorite phrase is “Trust in God. He is our source of strength.” There is also danger and intrigue in the story. Jefferson Spiby is not about to go down quietly nor let Ella get away so easily. I was very pleased with how What Comes My Way ended. It was nice to see growth from the characters especially Philip. Family, friendship, and faith are the focus of What Comes My Way. Those readers who indulge in historical novels will enjoy the Brookstone Brides trilogy. What Comes My Way is a fulfilling historical novel with handsome horses, tremendous tricks, a malicious murderer, outrageous offenses, caring chums, and persistent Pinkerton agents.

More Books by Tracie Peterson

Other Books in This Series