Book 2 - Designing Debutantes

What Happens in the Ballroom

A Sparkling Historical Regency Romance

    • 4.2 • 143 Ratings
    • $6.99
    • $6.99

Publisher Description

“Anyone who loves romance must read Sabrina Jeffries!” –Lisa Kleypas, New York Times bestselling author

Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton won’t want to miss this new story from the legendary New York Times bestselling author as she brings a fresh new hook to Regency romance with her series about three event planners who’ve rejected working as governesses to become party planners to London’s elite ton.
A young military widow, Eliza Pierce is enjoying both freedom and financial success as part of Elegant Occasions. When her late husband’s best friend, Nathaniel Stanton, the Earl of Foxstead, hires Elegant Occasions to help another young widow of an officer become part of high society, Eliza wonders why. Is the woman a relative? Or is she the earl’s mistress and her adorable toddler his child? If so, why does he take Eliza in his arms every chance he gets . . .
Foxstead’s family situation makes it difficult for him to marry, so his visceral attraction to his best friend’s widow is an unwelcome complication. Burdened by family secrets and those of his commanding officer, he’s determined to do his duty even when it means being around Eliza every day. But how can he resist when the fetching Eliza keeps tempting him to break his own rules? For if he dares to expose the truth, will she ever forgive him? Or will she banish him from her life forever . . .

“This heartwarming historical romance teems with witty banter and wanton desire.”— Library Journal

March 28
Zebra Books
Kensington Publishing Corp.

Customer Reviews

michelle-454 ,

Nathaniel & Eliza

Eliza Pierce is a widow. She runs Elegant Occasions with her two sisters. Eliza is the eldest. She had no plans to remarry. Thee sisters started Elegant Occasions after their parent’s scandal.

Nathaniel Stanton, the Earl of Foxstead, was a good friend of Eliza’s husband. They went to war together. He hires Elegant Occasions to find a husband for Jocelin March who is a widow with a young son. Nathaniel was asked by his General, Jocelin’s father, to look after her before he died during the war. There is a mysterious relationship between Nathaniel and Jocelin. Is she his former mistress? Is the child his? Why is he so devoted and concerned for Jocelin?

Nathaniel has not seen Eliza in about a year. He has forgotten how beautiful she is. She takes his breath away. He is bewitched by her smiles and just being in her company. He cannot stay away from Eliza. Unfortunately he has a secret that could destroy Eliza. He must stay away from Eliza. He feels he does not deserve her.

Eliza cannot resist the pull she has toward Nathaniel. They both try to fight the attraction they have for each other. They cannot resist. They have great chemistry together. Watching them fall in love was enjoyable. Nathaniel is adorable in his pursuit of Eliza. Their passion is hot and consuming. It devours them. They have some steamy scenes together.

Nathaniel is a former rake. Can Eliza trust his feelings for her? Will his secret destroy the budding relationship they have? Can their love overcome all obstacles? Their back and forth banter was adorable. The author had you rooting for the couple and hoping they will be together.

This is the second book in the Designing Debutantes series. I enjoyed this sweet romance. The book flowed and kept you turning the pages. The author weaves a story that captures you from the beginning. There is a mysterious man that has been at all their functions that Verity sees but she cannot find him to speak to him. Who is this man? Verity wants to know! I cannot wait for Verity’s story in book three to find out who is this mysterious man. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley and I am voluntarily leaving a review.

Astroyic ,

Intrigue & Passion!

This Regency Romance is about the three Harper sisters who have used each of their attributes to help them create a business that had become the most sought-after aid to throwing social events, called Elegant Occasions. Where they are hired to help prospective debutants become successful. This is the second book of this series and is Eliza and Nathaniel’s story.

Mrs. Eliza Pierce is the widow of Nathaniel’s eldest and closest friend Samuel who died in the war in the peninsula. Nathaniel hires Elegant Occasions to help Mrs. Jocelin March’s coming out to society for the season after losing her father and her husband in the war, leaving her with a small son.

Although Nathaniel Stanton, the Earl of Foxstead is strictly just Jocelin guardian, he is hoping that by using the sisters’ business, him and Eliza will become closer, since he has always been taken by her beauty. But he is also hiding some rather major secrets as well. That just might cause obstacles on the path to love!

Witty banter, seduction, and passion blend seamlessly to create this entertaining, emotional romance. With an intriguing plot, and complex characters to provide the perfect sensual escape. There’s nothing I didn’t love about What Happens In The Ballroom, especially its lush captivating glimpse into history.

I received an early copy and this is my honest review.

Carey1586 ,

4.5-5 Stars!!

4.5-5 Stars! Loved it! You really can’t go wrong with Sabrina Jeffries! This is the second book in the series ‘Designing Debutantes’ and can be read as a standalone but I’d recommend reading the first book also. The main characters in this book are Nathanial and Eliza. Eliza’s the widow of Nathanial’s friend. I love that the sisters in this series run their own business, ‘Elegant Occasions’ and they’re independent women before it was cool or allowed. Nathanial took some time to actually like. The book wasn’t slow to start, that’s for sure. Had some twists I didn’t see coming and I loved every shocking moment!
Can’t wait to read Verity’s book with the Phantom man next!
*I received this at no charge & I voluntarily left this review.*

More Books Like This


More Books by Sabrina Jeffries


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series