White Elephant White Elephant

White Elephant

A Novel

    • 3.1 • 26 Ratings
    • $7.99
    • $7.99

Publisher Description

A turf war between neighbors leads to a small-town crisis in this sharply observed debut novel perfect for fans of Tom Perrotta, Meg Wolitzer, and Celeste Ng.

The white elephant looms large over the town of Willard Park: a newly-constructed behemoth of a home, it towers over the quaint houses, including Allison and Ted Millers’ tiny hundred year old home. When owner Nick Cox cuts down the Millers’ precious red maple—in an effort to make his unsightly property more appealing to buyers—their once serene town becomes a battleground.

While tensions between Ted and Nick escalate, other dysfunctions abound: Allison finds herself compulsively drawn to the man who threatens to upend her quietly organized life. A lawyer with a pot habit and a serious mid-life crisis skirts his responsibilities. And in a quest for popularity, a teenage girl gets caught up in a not-so-harmless prank. Newcomers and longtime residents alike clash in conflicting pursuits of the American Dream, with trees mysteriously uprooted, fingers pointed, and lines drawn.

White Elephant is a tangled-web tale of a community on the verge and its all-too-human inhabitants, who long to connect but can’t seem to find the words. It's a story about opposing sides struggling to find a middle ground—a parable for our times.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
March 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Ecco
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.5
MB

More Books Like This

The Witch The Witch
2014
Cobble Hill Cobble Hill
2020
Ernie's Ark Ernie's Ark
2020
The State We're In The State We're In
2015
A Charmed Place A Charmed Place
2013
Sleeping Beauties Sleeping Beauties
2017

Customers Also Bought

The Boarding-House The Boarding-House
2019
The Ladies' Man The Ladies' Man
2000
The Turk and My Mother: A Novel The Turk and My Mother: A Novel
2005
The Nowhere City The Nowhere City
2012
Grief Cottage Grief Cottage
2017
Love and Friendship Love and Friendship
2012