Will and Testament Will and Testament

Will and Testament

A Novel

    • 3.5 • 23 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

Longlisted for the National Book Award

Four siblings, two summer houses, one terrible secret—the “prickly, persuasive” bestseller from one of Norway’s most celebrated novelists, perfect for readers of Rachel Cusk and Karl Ove Knausgaard (New Yorker)

“ . . . Hypnotic. Hjorth works finely parsed and brilliant variations on her unrelenting theme of familial mistrust and misunderstanding.” —New York Times

When a dispute over her parents’ will grows bitter, Bergljot is drawn back into the orbit of the family she fled twenty years before. Her mother and father have decided to leave two island summer houses to her sisters, disinheriting the two eldest siblings from the most meaningful part of the estate. To outsiders, it is a quarrel about property and favoritism. But Bergljot, who has borne a horrible secret since childhood, understands the gesture as something very different—a final attempt to suppress the truth and a cruel insult to the grievously injured.

Will and Testament is a lyrical meditation on trauma and memory, as well as a furious account of a woman’s struggle to survive and be believed. Vigdis Hjorth’s novel became a controversial literary sensation in Norway and has been translated into twenty languages.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
September 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Verso Books
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

whatahopper ,

One of the best books of the year.

Read it!

More Books Like This

Fear Fear
2017
Gravel Heart Gravel Heart
2017
The Son of the House The Son of the House
2021
Admiring Silence Admiring Silence
2016
The Confidant The Confidant
2012
Transcendent Kingdom Transcendent Kingdom
2020

More Books by Vigdis Hjorth & Charlotte Barslund

Long Live the Post Horn! Long Live the Post Horn!
2020
Is Mother Dead Is Mother Dead
2022
A Very Scandinavian Christmas A Very Scandinavian Christmas
2019
Arv og miljø Arv og miljø
2016
La herencia La herencia
2019
Eredità Eredità
2020

Customers Also Bought

A Dangerous Woman A Dangerous Woman
2017
Never Coming Back Never Coming Back
2017
The Birds The Birds
2016
Let Him Go Let Him Go
2013
Rabbits for Food Rabbits for Food
2019
The Bird Tribunal The Bird Tribunal
2016